Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
In lieu of bell pepper, I use fresh chopped green chili (grown right here in NM), or a can of rotel chili will work just the same. I also use a can of white snopeg corn and add a can of chopped tomatoes. Never heard of using half and half or butter. I steam the zucchini and then add the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Colorful, fresh and delicious! I used 2 zucchini and 2 yellow crookneck squash, a whole can of corn and shredded colby/jack cheese. Made a nice batch with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was such an interesting recipe that I prepared it exactly as written - and wasn't strongly moved one way or the other. I don't often assign the overused word "bland" to a dish but in this case it is appropriate. While this dish doesn't offend the taste buds, it certainly doesn't excite them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe turned out so good! You will need to be careful not to overcook the zucchini. First I sautéed the onions, garlic and green pepper with olive oil (I didn't use any butter), then I added the zucchini and cooked probably for 2 minutes, added corn, salt and pepper and cooked for an additional 2 minutes. I didn't add any half and half because I don't think it would go in this dish at all. Once cooked, I transferred to a plate and sprinkled cheese on. Thanks A.P. Newman this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very quick and tasty side dish. never heard of adding half and half to calabacitas so to cut the fat i didnt add cream and it wasnt missed. Used red bell pepper instead of green, and used a cheddar/monterey jack blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Maybe it's a southwest thing? I don't understand all the comments about "never heard of adding 1/2 & 1/2 or any kind of milk to calabacitas." It is the only way I've ever had it. I like that it makes it creamy. I also mix in my cheese, rather than just letting it melt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I make this all the time but I've never heard of calabacitas with half and half or any kind of milk. I add chicken (brown it in the same pan before adding all the veggies) and red pepper flakes for a slightly spicy complete meal and serve it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is really good. It was a touch bland for my taste, so since I like heat, so I added a half a seeded, finely chopped jalapeno pepper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Great way to use zucchini. I didn't add the half and half. I have added a minced jalapeno or two, and once I roasted a bunch of jalapenos, diced them up, and added them. When mixed with the other veggies, it isn't too hot at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Fantastic! Love, LOVE it!! I didn't add the half & half either-I can't imagine what it adds to this dish. Maybe I'll experiment next time but we absolutely loved it without this time around! It does make a lot-we'll be eating it for a few days! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States