Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I always fry in bacon grease with chopped onion and minced garlic. Chop zucchini in circles unless I have fresh sweet corn I will use canned sweet corn drained. I fry for about 10-15 minutes stirring occasionally until golden brown. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was so comforting and delicious. I was a little unsure about the half and half, but after eating it I realized it really makes the dish wonderful. If you are watchful with the amount of cheese, it is pretty healthy too. Serve it with some Mexican rice and you will have great easy weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I make this for big parties all the time, always gone by the end. I add green chili, and just slightly sautée the zucchini, squash, red onions and bell peppers in olive oil. I add the steamed corn, cheese, cream, salt pepper, garlic powder and mix in large casserole dish. Top with cheese and bake for 30 min at about 325 or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These are delicious, just like in the resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlady6
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
We'll be having this for dinner often during zucchini season. I did leave out the salt as we need to have low sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was such an interesting recipe that I prepared it exactly as written - and wasn't strongly moved one way or the other. I don't often assign the overused word "bland" to a dish but in this case it is appropriate. While this dish doesn't offend the taste buds, it certainly doesn't excite them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Delicious dish. I added some summer squash & ro-tel. No half and half. Oh, it was so good! I also put cotija cheese on top, instead of monterey jack. Muy Bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Maybe it's a southwest thing? I don't understand all the comments about "never heard of adding 1/2 & 1/2 or any kind of milk to calabacitas." It is the only way I've ever had it. I like that it makes it creamy. I also mix in my cheese, rather than just letting it melt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Added chicken and celery to this dish and it was wonderful!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was good, I have a vegetable garden for the first time this year and enjoy using zucchinis from it. I used chicken broth as opposed to cream, that was what I had on hand and also omitted the butter. I also didn't have Jack cheese, so used a grated cheese mix I always have. It was good, will likely make it again but might also try other Calabacitas recipes on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Easy Roasted Peppers

Discover a simple way to roast and peel peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States