Cakes In A Cone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
My son absolutely LOVED this. I made it for him for his 2nd birthday(a pre-party party) and his excitement was what a mom lives for. It made his day and mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2000
I took this recipe to the finger food only dance for seniors. It was a hit. You see, even the big kids can like this too. It was a little bit of nostalgia for them, and they look so much like the real thing. They are also delicious. I changed the recipe to letting them cook after removing from the oven then dipped them in a butterscotch butter icing. This really madethem look like icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This recipe is great! I make it often for my kids to take to school (I even take them to work) and they are ALWAYS a big hit! I frost them and decorate according to the occasion instead of using the chocolate chips. I always make them the night before and have never had them get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
Great way to be able to give kids the cake that they love, and not as messy as a plain cake. Just be sure that you only fill them 3/4 of the way or you end up with a cake waterfall over the side of the cone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I made these for treat day at my daughters kindergarten. The kids loved them!!! I recommend making them the same day as they are going to be eaten though because the cone tends to get a little mushy the next day. I also melted the chocolate chips in the microwave and them spread it on like a frosting, much easier then waiting around for chips to melt! Super easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUMBY1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
What a neat idea! These are a winner to send to school and the kids can make them by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Very easy. Pretty neat. No utensils required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
What a great idea! I made these for my daughter's kindergarten class for her class birthday treat(made the same day). I followed the suggestion of microwaving the chocolate chips to make the "frosting", as I found that easier than counting out chocolate chips and balancing them on a rounded cake top. As far as transporting them in the car, which is tricky, I was able to find a cardboard box JUST big enough to hold all the cones upright, so that none of them fell over while driving to the school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Kids loved them. Only note. I put too much batter in the first batch of cones and they "overflowed". Suggestion: I made these for my son's birthday. I left them unfrosted. I bought frosting and sprinkles and let the kids decorate them themselves. They loved it. These would be great for any occasion. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Excellent kid-friendly recipe. Easy to make. I remember these from when I was a kid. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA COLE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States