Cakes In A Cone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
What a neat idea! These are a winner to send to school and the kids can make them by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Excellent kid-friendly recipe. Easy to make. I remember these from when I was a kid. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA COLE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Very easy. Pretty neat. No utensils required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I made these for treat day at my daughters kindergarten. The kids loved them!!! I recommend making them the same day as they are going to be eaten though because the cone tends to get a little mushy the next day. I also melted the chocolate chips in the microwave and them spread it on like a frosting, much easier then waiting around for chips to melt! Super easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUMBY1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
My son absolutely LOVED this. I made it for him for his 2nd birthday(a pre-party party) and his excitement was what a mom lives for. It made his day and mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
What a great idea! I made these for my daughter's kindergarten class for her class birthday treat(made the same day). I followed the suggestion of microwaving the chocolate chips to make the "frosting", as I found that easier than counting out chocolate chips and balancing them on a rounded cake top. As far as transporting them in the car, which is tricky, I was able to find a cardboard box JUST big enough to hold all the cones upright, so that none of them fell over while driving to the school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Kids loved them. Only note. I put too much batter in the first batch of cones and they "overflowed". Suggestion: I made these for my son's birthday. I left them unfrosted. I bought frosting and sprinkles and let the kids decorate them themselves. They loved it. These would be great for any occasion. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2000
I took this recipe to the finger food only dance for seniors. It was a hit. You see, even the big kids can like this too. It was a little bit of nostalgia for them, and they look so much like the real thing. They are also delicious. I changed the recipe to letting them cook after removing from the oven then dipped them in a butterscotch butter icing. This really madethem look like icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
Great way to be able to give kids the cake that they love, and not as messy as a plain cake. Just be sure that you only fill them 3/4 of the way or you end up with a cake waterfall over the side of the cone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This recipe is great! I make it often for my kids to take to school (I even take them to work) and they are ALWAYS a big hit! I frost them and decorate according to the occasion instead of using the chocolate chips. I always make them the night before and have never had them get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mummy Cakes

Transform chocolate cupcakes into spooky mummy faces.

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States