Cakes In A Cone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Fun, get creative recipe! Made a double batch using two different cake mixes and found that the mix calling for eggs, water and butter (not oil) baked better, yeiled a much better looking cone and had less overflow problems. Using 1.75 ounce cones, I got 25 cones from one box of cake mix. I filled them up to just shy of the top inside line, gently tapped the bottom of the cone to settle the mix and baked them in a cupcake pan with paper liners. The only time I had overflow was when the edge of the cone was broken. If one should overflow to the bottom, I found that if you take it out and replace the paper liner, it breaks the stream and stops. Just frost the drips, after all ice cream melts! Frosted with canned chocolate chip icing, the cones look really authentic! Tip for transporting: Use egg cartons. Cut off the top, then bottoms of each egg holder and you have a "collar" that holds the cones. Then I taped the egg carton collars into a box lid and it made for both easy transport and serving when sitting on a buffet table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
These treats are cute and taste good IF eaten the day they are baked. If made the day before serving they are a DISASTER!!! The cones get gooey and soggy the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
of course this is a great recipe expecially for those with children in school (they work with any occation!). for those of you with "soggy" problems or with not wanting to many for just the family, try freezing then before or after there iced, then pull out the night before you need them for school/work, or the morning you may want them for dessert. this also keeps them tasting fresh baked! try it with all your baked needs. don't be afraid of the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
These ARE good if you make them right. I apparently filled them too full (about 3/4 full) and they ended up looking like an avalanche hit them. The batter rose up and spilled out of the cone. I would stick to 1/2 to 2/3 full and DO NOT open the oven until the time is over. Even then, there are no guarantees. Out of 24, I got 9 halfway decent cones to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This recipe is great! I make it often for my kids to take to school (I even take them to work) and they are ALWAYS a big hit! I frost them and decorate according to the occasion instead of using the chocolate chips. I always make them the night before and have never had them get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
To prevent the cones from getting soggy, poke holes on the bottom of it with a fork after baking so the heat can escape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
I made and share these with my boyfriend and parents. They all thought they were good and a great idea. I did pretty good as all 24 came out looking right. I did have a bit of a time getting the chips to stay on a rounded top! That was not an easy feat and was messy. And please, can anyone suggest a way to transport them so I don't end up with sprinkles, chocolate all over my car seats?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
This receipe is a great idea for kids I would use regular frosting instead of choc. chips and I would also put a paper holder under each cone when cooking. I had a problem with some of the cones burning on the bottom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
My son absolutely LOVED this. I made it for him for his 2nd birthday(a pre-party party) and his excitement was what a mom lives for. It made his day and mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
Great way to be able to give kids the cake that they love, and not as messy as a plain cake. Just be sure that you only fill them 3/4 of the way or you end up with a cake waterfall over the side of the cone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States