Cakes In A Cone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This recipe is great! I make it often for my kids to take to school (I even take them to work) and they are ALWAYS a big hit! I frost them and decorate according to the occasion instead of using the chocolate chips. I always make them the night before and have never had them get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Kids loved them. Only note. I put too much batter in the first batch of cones and they "overflowed". Suggestion: I made these for my son's birthday. I left them unfrosted. I bought frosting and sprinkles and let the kids decorate them themselves. They loved it. These would be great for any occasion. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This was the funnest after-school cooking project my daughter and I ever had yet! I only made 8 cones because one previous reviewer had mentioned that they get soggy the next day and there was no way my family would eat 24 cones in one night (SO after filling the 8 cones, I made the rest into regular cupcakes). Also, instead of melting the choc chips, I used chocolate frosting, which was a little tricky to spread over each one BUT they were very tasty. Looked almost to darn cute to eat. There's only 2 cones left (and a whole batch of cupcakes) but they were tasty and my daughter had a blast! Thanks Sassy for the great, kid-friendly idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
What a great idea! I made these for my daughter's kindergarten class for her class birthday treat(made the same day). I followed the suggestion of microwaving the chocolate chips to make the "frosting", as I found that easier than counting out chocolate chips and balancing them on a rounded cake top. As far as transporting them in the car, which is tricky, I was able to find a cardboard box JUST big enough to hold all the cones upright, so that none of them fell over while driving to the school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I made these for treat day at my daughters kindergarten. The kids loved them!!! I recommend making them the same day as they are going to be eaten though because the cone tends to get a little mushy the next day. I also melted the chocolate chips in the microwave and them spread it on like a frosting, much easier then waiting around for chips to melt! Super easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUMBY1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I made these for my son's 2nd birthday as take home treats. They were so cute and a very neat idea. They were also very easy to make. And not to messy for little hands to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
My 6 years old daughter and I had so much fun making this cup cakes. We brought it to her class for her Birthday Celebration!!! The kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Very easy. Pretty neat. No utensils required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
I made and share these with my boyfriend and parents. They all thought they were good and a great idea. I did pretty good as all 24 came out looking right. I did have a bit of a time getting the chips to stay on a rounded top! That was not an easy feat and was messy. And please, can anyone suggest a way to transport them so I don't end up with sprinkles, chocolate all over my car seats?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
My son absolutely LOVED this. I made it for him for his 2nd birthday(a pre-party party) and his excitement was what a mom lives for. It made his day and mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States