Cakes In A Cone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was a great treat to take to school for a birthday instead of the usual cupcakes. I made them the night before and then frosted that morning and had no problem with soggyness. Kids loved them. I used a triple chocolate cake mix and filled the cones to just below the middle ring - only had 2 overflow but they were still very usable and all had nice mounded tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetsforsteph
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
They're adorable. The only problem is, it gets kind of soggy in the bottom of the cone (so eat fairly soon after) and there isn't frosting in the bottom half of the cone which isn't as desirable. Perfect for kids (who don't require added sugar) but if you'd like, have some extra frosting on hand for when you get to the bottom. Nothing like a double frosted cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsforsteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
nice and easy treat kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
These were so much fun to make. I followed other reviews and only filled the cones about halfway full. Also, I used differnt kinds of frosting, like strawberry, to be fun. I also used chocolate cake mix since I didn't have yellow. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Made them for my 3 year olds B-day and all the kids loved them! Easy to make and fun to decorate! Not as messy as plain cupcakes. I liked the combination of textures with the cone and cupcake. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
very cute, but as far as cake goes, they were a bit dry compared to regular cupcakes (with the same cake mix). Definitely needs the "extra moist" mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel Dobbs
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very fun and versatile recipe. You can do so many differant things with this recipe, add candy toppings, decorate with cake tips, whatever. The kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Dobbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I didn't listen to the warnings about "Don't make the day before", and went ahead and made 'em late last night. Not one complaint about soggy cones. I didn't even get one - that's how fast they went! I did only fill just a hair over halfway (as last time I made them, I went 3/4 and ended up with volcanoes!) - shoot for 2/3 full, because these had flatter tops. Good thing I decorated with the FROG CUPCAKES recipe on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Found this brilliant, the topping I used was 50g butter 50g golden syrup melt together in a pan add 100g icing sugar and beat into smooth paste. If you dip the cones into the topping it runs down the cone to give the appearance of a melting icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
the cake tasted ok, the cone was soggy. Won't be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States