Cakes In A Cone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very cute idea. easiest way to bake is to stick them in a cupcake pan. Great for kids partys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Delicious! I made these for my neice's birthday party. These are great the first day, but end up soggy if you save them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I made them using the mini cones (60). Cake cooks so moist in the cones and the kids and adults thought they were so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
These are adorable fun treats for the kids. However, DO NOT follow the baking instructions in the directions. Follow the cake box directions for cup cakes. Fill the cone about 3/4 of the way with the cake batter to ensure you get a nice rounded mound on top of the cones. Once you ice them they look like ice cream cones. I used chocolate cake and vanilla frosting then I put star shaped sprinkles on top of mine. The kids loved them. Very easy and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliCat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I have made these several times. The first time I filled them too full and they overflowed. The second time I filled them just about the second line and they came out perfect. I skip the chocolate chips and just use my icing bag to decorate with a swirled top and add sprinkles. Looks just like a cone of soft serve and not nearly as messy as a regular cupcake. Always get positive comments on them. I've never had mine get soggy overnight. I just use mini cupcake liners (doubled up) when I bake mine, and they've never burnt. This is a great idea for anything with kids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Awesome! The box of cones I bought had a similar creation found on the side, yet the baking time and temp were different...This recipes' times and temp were better (400 for 15min)..also, I wrapped the bottom of the cones in foil so it would not burn. I highly suggest doing this. red velvet cake w/ vanilla icing (idk if this happens w/ all icings but i used vanilla pillsbury icing in a can, i put my cones in the fridge when they were done and when we took them out to eat them the vanilla got stiff and tasted almost like real icecream! It was amazing, work loved em!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjstead90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
AWESOME and easy recipe! I used strawberry cake mix with strawberry icing and multicolored sprinkles!! I followed the advice of wrapping some tin foil around the bottoms to prevent the soggyness and it worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
If your cones come out soggy on the bottom use pieces of tin foil to help them bake better. Just wrap the tin foil around the bottom half of the cone. I make these once in a while for my kids. They absolutely love them! I usually use a Funfetti cake mix and vanilla frosting. Moms love them too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
A fun and easy way to make cupcakes. The kids LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
The kids loved these... However, I only filled mine halfway, then put a big scoop of ice cream on top instead of just frosting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States