Cakes In A Cone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
def fill at least 2/3 to 3/4 or you dont have anything to frost. Also, cook at 350 for 15-18min or they overcook. tried with batter in cone and batter in cupcake holder with cone on top, by far the batter directly in cone upright is the most moist and comes out perfect!!!! used reg frosting not choc chips, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
My mom used to make these when I was little, and we always loved them. I used color cones and they were very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
To prevent the cones from getting soggy, poke holes on the bottom of it with a fork after baking so the heat can escape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written and it flopped. I read the reviews and there was mixed reactions to the cone texture after baking, but I thought I would still try. I baked and iced them on a Friday to have for lunch on Saturday. Saturday morning all of the cones had gotten mushy and had fallen over creating one big mess With no time left i had to rush to the store and buy a replacement dessert kids would enjoy. It was a lot of effort and ingredients so I won't be making this recipe again. What a disappoinment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy1225

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I made these for my kids probably 30 years ago. I baked the cake mix in the cones and then took the cooled cones to our local Dairy Queen and had soft serve ice cream put on top, with sprinkles. It was always a big hit with the kids! It was somewhat expensive to add the ice cream, but was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
this is a great idea, but the recipe should have very clear instructions to NOT overfill the cones! I overfilled my first batch, and it was a disaster! for my second try, I actually baked the cake in a cake pan, then cut it into pieces to fill the cones. by doing it this way, I was also able to line the inside of each cone with icing. I may try baking in the cones again, but the other way works great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Made this for my daughter's 5 year old Birthday party. The combination of the cake and the cone was way too dry. Most of them didn't get eaten, everyone thought they were adorable though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Not easy to transport!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Thank you for sharing the recipe! I baked these for my son and we love the cakes in a cone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizNMedina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Theis looks amazing! My couple of changes were that I just baked the cake in any pan and shoved it in the cones once baked. Cones held up better that way and I didn't have to worry about overflow! Also, I just did regular icing in a zip-top bag with a relatively large hole in the corner. When piped in a circle, the icing looks just like soft-serve ice cream! I topped it with a strawberry malted milk ball (as a cherry) and took them to school for a "cupcake walk" in music class. I was an instant rock star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States