Cake with Buttercream Decorating Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I needed to make a butter cream frosting WITHOUT eggs for a baby shower, and I used this. I got rave reviews from all the party attendees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This frosting is the BOMB!!I got a lot of compliments. Its creamy, flavorful and easy to adj. stiffness for use of decorating. A nice change from the greasy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Laotto, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
It was very good!! It tasted perfect and I much rather make this myself then spend 75.00 just to get a buttercream cake at the bakery..recipe is good..it froze well and spread nice..I made extra..I think the salt is untasteable but it really adds something..thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherry Darling
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I loved this recipe and I WILL be using it again...It was my first time making Buttercream and decorating a cake and thanks to the thickness of the Buttercream I was able to create two beautiful cakes..It tasted as good as and if not better than the bakery...Thank you for sharing this REALLY good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Darling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Wow! I didn't think I'd need 3 POUNDS of confectioner's sugar, but I really did use all of it. Maybe next time find a way to incorporate cream cheese... but, this was good as is. The ideal temperature to work with it was hard to meter: too cold=too hard to spread, too warm=melty mess, just right temp=didn't stay there for more than 20 minutes. Don't know how to fix that... but, could be because my house was hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen G
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I used this recipe (only the frosting directions) for a birthday cake I was making for a friend's surprise party. It had a better flavor than some of the others I had tried and this one held up very well to decorating too. I didn't have unsalted butter so I used salted and ommitted the salt in the recipe. This is a very good recipe and I will definitely be using it again. The only issue I had was when I made a batch as shown, I ended up having a lot left over. I made a 16x16 4-leaf clover cake and an 8-inch round cake, and still had 2 cups of frosting left when I was done, so this is a big batch. Keep that in mind when figuring out how much you really need. Also, I found it was best to have a room temperature of about 70 degrees. I think my house was actually colder at the time as I have a wall unit that just runs in the dining room. I would do the frosting in the kitchen then set it in the dining room for about 20 minutes and it was set pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Centre, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica Boles
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This frosting is taste great. I received many compliments and requests for the recipe. I calculated the recipe for 5 servings and had enough frosting to decorate 24 cupcakes generously and had extra left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Boles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
PERFECT ICING!!PER CUSTOMERS, TASTE LIKE WEDDING CAKE FROSTING. FROSTING WILL BE THICK USE MILK FOR CONSISTENCY. 2/4 MAKES BASICALLY MEDIUM CONSISTENCY. USE A LITTLE LESS. DONT MAKE TO RUNNY. ADD WATER FOR ICING. ABOUT A CAP FULL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Excellent. Great taste - not too buttery or heavy. I also did not notice the Crisco, something I would HATE to taste in a frosting. I used half the recipe to fill petit fours. This recipe served my needs perfectly. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psi1497

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
really good we used it for a party!! very creamy thats good :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States