Cake with Buttercream Decorating Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I only made the frosting from this recipe but it was delicious. Can't really say much more, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Le Roy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very easy, uncomplicated and reliable buttercream. I made half the recipe, which very generously frosted 24 cupcakes with some left over. Because I piped the frosting and wanted it stiffer, I didn't use all of the milk (I used half and half) called for - added most of it in, then adjusted until I got the consistency I wanted. You can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is the BEST frosting recipe by far! I did do a 1/2 T vanilla 1/2T Almond, but other than a little flavoring-I changed nothing. I had to hold my kids back from licking the bowl!! I highly recommend this one! Yes, it does make a ton. I frosted 63 cupcakes and still have enough for a 9 x 13 sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is a great recipe to decorate with. It's temperature picky, but that's no big deal. This makes a TON of icing, and I slowly add the powder sugar until it reaches the right consistency, I don't think I used as much sugar as was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This frosting is a dream to work with! I've only taste tested, haven't tried the finished product yet but, it did taste really good from what I could tell. I'll definitely know more tonight when we try the cake. I loved that it made a lot of icing. I added an extra 1/2 tablespoon of vanilla and I didn't use near as much sugar as called for. I added extra shortening as needed. The cake turned out beautiful! ***UPDATE*** I tried the frosting tonight and really loved it. It wasn't overly sweet like most frostings and it just had a great flavor. My son has a b-day coming up and we will definitely use this for his Spongebob cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Good buttercream frosting. I didn't find it tasted too much like shortening, as I do with many others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Used a different cake recipe, but chose this for the frosting. I scaled down to 2 servings, and tried doing the math from ounces to grams and ended up with something a bit off because I could not get the icing to hold a shape even chilled; kept adding powdered sugar till I sort of/kind of could work with it. Will try again some cooler day. Maybe when I have ounce measures about. It was fun. Rating 5 for flavor and because my mis-measurements should not bring it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by White Raven
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Really Great. Stiff enough for roses to hold up and has a nice crust, not too soon but soon enough. I used almost all the milk (after I took some out for the roses) and had a frosting that worked for pipping and spreading. Tastes great also, not super sweet. I had enough to cover 24 cupcakes and 3 single 8" round cakes. And I have some left. This makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by White Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Great Frosting! Easy to make, and tastes really great! I made a (9x12) sheet cake that I cut up and made into a Roblox character (looks like a lego guy). I used a lot of frosting, and had a lot left over. The cake was flat and not dimensional. My 9 year old loved it (I just made it up, nothing fancy...but looked really cute...for a beginner).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna Barson
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Used the frosting on a cake and cupcakes, It took color well (liquid coloring didn't make it too thin or greasy) and was a great consistency for piping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Barson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States