Cake with Buttercream Decorating Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I made just the frosting, and it was easy and delicious. I added some cocoa to part of it for a chocolate buttercream and it got rave reviews. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Starr, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KEDY
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Delicious frosting--perfectly sweet and creamy. I halved the recipe for cupcakes, and it was plenty for my 12 regular and 6 jumbo sized cupcakes. I put the leftovers (about a cup 1/4 of frosting) in the freezer. Hopefully it really does freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I've been baking for years with good results, BUT this frosting is a HUGE hit. I am always asked to bring in the cake or cupcakes for any class function because of this frosting recipe! I've made it as written, but usually substitute butter for the shortening with even better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I had allrecipes calculate a much smaller portion. It was DE-licious!! Easy and quick too!! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! I will definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA REALE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I didn't make a boxed cake but this frosting is amazing! It took about 5 minutes to throw it all together and mix it up, and it tastes SO good! The only things I changed a few minor things, such as omitting the salt, mainly because I used regular butter...and I used 1 T vanilla extract and 1 T almond extract to give it a little more flavor. I also used heavy whipping cream instead of milk and instead of measuring it out, I just slowly poured while I was mixing til I got the nice thick consistency I wanted! It is perfect!!! My place is about 73 right now because I have been baking cakes and it hasn't melted or thinned because of the temp (like I read on lots of other reviews). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I used this recipe for a birthday cake at my son's 3rd birthday party. It got rave reviews from everyone and one little guy even told my son, "Your Mama makes good cake!" I followed the directions and only added a little milk at a time to insure it didn't get too runny. I'll be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This frosting recipe is perfect! It is my new recipe that I use for all my cakes. Everyone loved it, and it was easy to use for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
*This reviews the frosting only* I was looking for a buttercream icing recipe to use consistently for the cakes I make as part of my side business. And this is it. When it is done, it taste like the center of an oreo. It is phenomenal. My fiance who doesn't even like buttercream (weird I know!) loved this! If you are looking for a buttercream to use, use this! And, note, like everyone else says, this make s HUGE batch of icing. I decorated an 11x15 cake with this and had just enough! (It was 2 layers and filled with a ganache) I originally put this with a chocolate cake and let me tell you, it tasted like a soft oreo. If you are looking for a standard recipe...use this...it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was very good buttercream. I used heavy cream instead of milk and added a bit of almond flavoring. I piped it onto cupcakes using a 2D tip, and everyone at the Fall Festival thought they were store bought. Will use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States