Cake with Buttercream Decorating Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I could eat this by the spoonful! I love buttercream anyway but have never done my own. I made it exactly following the directions (actually I think I added a little more vanilla, but I tend to just let it run over my measuring spoon when I bake anyway), but it is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is a great buttercream . You do not have the greasy taste that you get from using just shortening. This is easy to work with and looks and tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars because everyone that ate it loved it. I, however, wasn't too crazy about it. It was just okay to me. I have other decorating frosting recipes that I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was a fantastic frosting!!! I made it exactly as directed. It was a huge hit, Great consistency for piping. I think the butter and shortening make the difference. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
The batch made enough for an entire Barbie cake! I baked part of the cake in a 2 quart pyrex bowl and then horizontally sliced it in half to create an additional layer. Then placed those two layers on top of two eight inch round layers and I still had enough frosting leftover to pipe ribbons onto the cake! I only used 2lbs of confectioner's sugar and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanthi
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Delicious frosting. half the measurement is sufficient for this cake. Very quick and easy! Everyone loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Great frosting! I am not a big fan of frosting. I usually scrape it off when I eat cake, but this actually tastes good! I used this frosting to decorate my son's birthday cake, was great for piping decoration. Makes a ton so I made 2/3 of the recipe to decorate a 9 x 13 cake and still had a bunch left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Awesome! It does make A LOT of icing! I decorated my daughter's Wizard of Oz cake and needed a lot of icing so this was perfect and we still had leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I never would have thought I could actually make a frosting that tastes this good! I followed the recipe except that I drizzled in the milk to get the right consistency. Other reviews said it makes a lot of frosting, but I wasn't sure what that meant. I frosted a 9 inch layer cake lavishly, and easily have enough frosting left over for another one. I'm freezing it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
makes a LOT of frosting as earlier posts stated :) very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambina82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States