Cake with Buttercream Decorating Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knovakne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is traditional buttercream frosting. You can use whipping cream or heavy cream in place of milk. If you are having problems with it separating, it is probably because it is too warm, or you use liquid food coloring instead of paste or gel. The liquid always makes it have a weird texture and is only good for coloring eggs, in my opinion. Wilton coloring pastes/gels are available in Walmart in the wedding craft area and give great results. My mother and sister were both professional cake decorators and loved their colors for the vibrancy and lack of added texture. Keep the icing chilled when possible, and add more powdered/confectioner's sugar if it is too thin, but do it in small amounts. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VERONICA83
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very good and easy to make. For me it was too sweet I made the entire recipe but used 3/4 of the sugar. It makes a lot of frosting so I recomend to make half the recipe to decorate about 50 cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERONICA83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
A previous reviewer said this frosting tastes like the frosting on a Costco cake, and that's exactly right. I personally do not typically like shortening-based frosting, but was looking for a frosting that would be a little smoother and more decorator-friendly than pure butter cream frosting usually is. In an effort to minimize the shortening taste, I used 1 1/2 cups butter and only 1/2 a cup shortening, but it still tasted like and had the greasy texture of shortening. It was very nice for decorating/piping, however. So if you don't mind a grocery-store-bakery frosting flavor, this is a good recipe. I won't be using it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
LOVE this recipe! I have tried so many buttercream recipes....gonna try it with butter rum extract instead of vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I've finally found a buttercream frosting that I love. I've tried many and this is THE ONE. Even my youngest, who doesn't eat frosting, liked this. Thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
its buttercream alright. im more of a whipped cream girl but i needed a butter cream for my daughters 5th birthday princess cake. it worked and i do have to agree with everyone else. it definitely is one of the best buttercreams i've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I ended up halving this recipe for 5 servings and it GENEROUSLY frosted 24 cupcakes with about 1/4 cup leftover. I used salted butter and omitted the salt in the recipe. I also added a little almond extract along with the vanilla. This frosting is definitely a keeper!! Tasted amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Very easy, very yummy, very right on the money! I will use this frosting recipe over and over again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States