Cake with Buttercream Decorating Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Frosting was good, but really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was perfect icing for decorating. I had a blast with it. Everyone thought it was SO yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Didn't make the cake, but did make the frosting recipe. Yum! Everyone thought I bought the cupcakes for my daughters' second birthday party! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Makes enough for 2 cakes or 2 batches of cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Morgan
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This recipe was just what I needed! It was SUPER easy to make. I, too, was shocked at how much sugar it called for but I used all of it. And I have to admit that I usually HATE making icing due to the huge mess that ensues while measuring out powdered sugar. It was great to just buy bags by the pound and pour them in as it mixed with no measuring mess. Easy to make & perfect for decorating. I had no issues with it being too soft. If any icing sits out too long, it will eventually start to get soft. I just popped it back into the fridge for a few min. as needed. Super sweet - perfect for a kid's birthday cake. I'll definitely be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Good flavor and really perfect for decorating with. I used it for a 9x13 cake and had a ton of frosting left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pookie4
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
YUM- Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pookie4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This review is for the frosting only - we made this for bake sale items and wanted a sturdy frosting that would stand up to a warm room and some transportation. The frosting did just that! While I was very happy with how it handled I would not likely make this frosting for personal use. It was really sweet and I didnt quite like the mouth feel of the shortening that was left behind. But personal preference aside this was a nice frosting to work with and I would use it again for bake sale items. The cupcakes in the photo were made by my 14 yo daughter and it was her first try at piping/decorating a sale item - great recipe for holding its shape!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
By FAR the best frosting recipe i have found. Not to butter, can't really taste the shortening. It was perfectly creamy and smooth! And it held well in room temperature. So happy to have found this recipe! I even halved the frosting recipe, and it frosted 24 cupcakes w/ leftover frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Followed recipe exactly and it came out wonderful. I used it to frost and decorate sugar cookies and this recipe made a ton! Will use again, great recipe thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States