Cake with Buttercream Decorating Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Used this to make a coral reef cake. The icing is delicious, takes food coloring well, and holds up to having lots of "things" stuck to it. If you need it less stiff, simply adding the milk works very well. Our daughter is gluten free so this works well for us. Definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this recipe to do lots of well covered cupcakes for a birthday, I easily covered 62 cupcakes with this and it was fabulous! Could have even used a little less powdered sugar, so taste as you add. Perfect form and buttery tasting, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
it tasted like shortening and powdered sugar , the texture was good for decoration but I couldn't eat it tasted nothing like buettycrocker's butter cream frosting .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Wow...simple, easy and delicious! I made 1/2 a batch and that was enough for 24 cupcakes. I added a couple of teaspoons of unsweetened cocoa to 1/2...excellent!!! Will make all the time...no more store bought for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This is such a great yummy frosting...Plus it's super easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This frosting is great! Perfect texture to work with for decorating and very tasty! I used salted butter and left out the salt and it's perfect. Thanks for the recipe, I'll use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Used to frost and decorate a 9X13 cake. Used 2/3 of a recipe and there was quite a bit left over. Easy to use and tasted good (very sweet of course). Will probably make this our go-to decorator icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
The frosting was one of the better ones I've tried. Very easy. I wanted mine to be stiff so I did not use all the milk the recipe called for. Very sweet but a big hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Tastes good, like powdered sugar frosting, but like another reviewer said, it was either too cold to spread or too warm that it got runny. After my crumb coat, and refrigerate the cake, I took out the frosting and gave it a stir to soften it up. It gets pretty hard in the fridge. I took the cake out, began frosting it and in a matter of minutes, like 3 or 4 minutes, the frosting got a greasy sheen to it and was sliding (melting) off the cake! It was devistating. I tried to salvage it as best I could with much help from the pros but this is good for decorating only, IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn Mahoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Township, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This was an easy to mix recipe and the consistency was perfect. It makes a very generous amount, so plan on leftovers...For cookies maybe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYa24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States