Cake with Buttercream Decorating Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I'd give this one 10 stars if I could. Here's my confession: we are big fans of Costco cakes in my family, particularly their buttercream frosting. It's not fancy, but it's darn good. I've been looking for a "clone" recipe for years...and this is it, only better. This recipe exceeded my expectations in every way. It's easy and inexpensive to make with ingrediants you probably have on hand. The frosting keeps wonderfully in the fridge, so make a full batch. Word of caution: don't skimp on the powdered sugar or it will be too thin. Follow the recipe and then save it to your recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by afb
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe...not very greasy at all. I used a mixture of vanilla extract and rum flavoring. Recipe makes a ton of icing...too much for only cupcakes or icing just the outside of a cake. Theres enough to ice between several layers. Because it makes so much, I am only giving 4 stars b/c I had a lot wasted for just cupcakes...maybe I should have read the reviews first and then I would have known better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
best frosting EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was amazing and it made decorating a breeze!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rabernicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Retford, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeckyB
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is the best buttercream recipe I have found. I tried many recipes without shortening and could never get the right consistancy or flavor I wanted. You can not taste the shortening in this recipe at all. I used almond extract in mine as well and it was great. I made 3/4 of the recipe and still had to freeze some remaining after doing a crumb layer and decorating a heart shaped cake. It works well with detailing and writing. Will used this one from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mich
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
WONDERFUL FROSTING! This was the 2nd buttercream recipe I tried and it was so much better than the first! (less greasy) Great for decorating and good tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is quick to make. As others have said there is more than enough frosting for a regular 2 tier 9"round cake. The taste is great, and no "crisco" flavor or left over texture in your mouth. Heavy cream can be substituted but all I had was 2% milk and it worked out fine. I also only had salted butter so I used that and left out the 1/8 salt. I did not have a problem with the icing separating or spreading, I am not sure why others had a problem, my house is set at 67degrees. I did add a little more vanilla to taste but otherwise left the recipe as is. I will make this again. 3 1/2 cups = 1pound of sifted powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheila T
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I can't stop eating this!!! I thought it had an odd, too much butter taste after I made it last night but, when I tried it while decorating the cake today it was incredible! I used it to frost a white cake from a box mix with two 9" layers. This could have easily frosted a much bigger cake. I have 2 1/2 cups left and am trying to think of something else to bake so I can use this up. If anyone out there uses the Viva paper towel or parchment paper method to make a faux fondant, this would be a good recipe to use because it crusts soon after frosting. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
ok. so i was skepticle about using this recipe. i needed to ice over 100 cupcakes for a baby shower. And i wanted the icing to acctually taste good. i didn't want my guests to have that greasy taste and feeling left in their mouths. At the last minute i decided to follow this recipe. am i glad i did. This makes a Very Good icing. I did make a slight change. i used 35% whipping cream as my liquid. YUMMY!. i deffinatly recomend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was awesome. I have had trouble with my frosting melting in the past, but this kept its consistency. Will definitely use this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States