Cake with Buttercream Decorating Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Had a tasty flavor, however I still haven't found a recipe that tastes like the BAKERY made kind, especially with out all the grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Family of 7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This is the best homemade frosting I've ever made. Some have mentioned a gritty consistancy. Someone told me years ago that using only the highest grade confectioner's sugar would eliminate this. So when buying confectioner's sugar I pass on the store brand and get the best available. Yes, I do notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
My go to frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Great icing recipe! I cut this down to 2/3rds & iced 24 cupcakes with leftovers. I read several reviews & turned my ac down to 70 degrees & had no problems with the consistency. I also used Almond milk with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Half a recipe makes more than enough for a 9" round layer cake. I added more flavoring. Make sure shortening is fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Frosting Review- Use very little milk for a med/stiff consistency. I used clear vanilla and the natural color is almost pure white, just barely tinged by the butter. The taste is far supreme to Wilton's recipe. This is my new buttercream recipe and I won't be looking for another, probably ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Way too sugary. I split in half (FYI, I frosted one 9x13 cake and still had a TON left), so this meant 1.5 lb confectioners' sugar. From various sources, I gathered that 1 lb of powdered sugar equals 3 1/2-4 cups. Thus 1.5 lbs = 5.25-6 cups. I used only 5 cups (don't like really sweet frosting), followed the rest of the recipe exactly and it was STILL super-sugary, to the point where it was actually kind of gritty. I will use less sugar or try a different recipe altogether next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Excellent buttercream. Made as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This review is just of the frosting, which is lovely. I made 1/4 batch (I used 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar) and it was enough to frost two dozen LARGE sugar cookies. The frosting is fluffy and light. I like my frosting to have a little more flavor so I doubled the vanilla. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I will have to say I was very skeptical of this recipe, since there is so much sugar in it. Well, my reservations were diminished after I tasted it!! I'll definitely be changing the recipe I use, to this one!! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States