Cake in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
I personally tried this recipe for mothers day gifts. It was the biggest hit! I also have my own frosting recipe so I purchased small canning jars with fancy lids and put the frosting in these jars and added them to the gift along with homade tags off the computer and everyone wanted this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
I made these for my church bazar and it was a great hit.I also added a copy of the recipe to each jar. I gave two of my friends a copy and they make them ahead for future parties and drop in friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
I used an Apple Cake recipe and put it in the jars. Total time took 1 hour from prep to sealing the jars. Jars sealed no time flat!! What a great idea for gifts or a fundraiser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
this was a very quick and inexpensive gift. I made these up and gave them away as teachers gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Loved it. Made mine with spice cake mix and used applesauce instead of oil and added a few nuts. Fun to do also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
I made this up and took all eight jars to my Mom who has had a stroke and is unable to do much cooking on her own. These jars can be stored on a shelf and pulled out & used one at a time. Works out great for her!! Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I must have put too much batter in my jars, because it overflowed :) However, once I got that problem fixed, it worked out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
This was such a great idea!! I made several different flavors during the holidays and made gift bags for the people I work with. They were huge hit! I used the small jars so I could give everyone a sample of each flavor. This year I am going to have to stock up on the jars because they were very hard to find that time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rossville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
THis recipe only made 5 pints for me. I did alter the recipe by adding sour cream, chocolate pudding and chocolate chips, to make a chocolate chip poundcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
What a cute idea ....I made them using the Chocolate Pudding Fudge Cake recipe and they looked great until they cooled ... shriveled in the jars and looked quite unappealing. The leftover batter I cooked in a pan and it tastes OK, but after all the work you still have to store the cakes in the freezer or eat them right away. On a good note ...I just found the Allrecipe web site this weekend and it is GREAT! Been glued to my computer since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States