Cake in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was so simple and easy to do, and my husband loved it. He's in Iraq and I sent it for his birthday. He said it was awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
My hubby said this cake was great! I would like to mention though that this only made 5 cups of batter - so only 5 jars of cake. I used a regular cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
LOVED THIS IDEA! I just made these for my husbands birthday, which he is spending in Iraq. I followed the recipe word for word and they turned out PERFECT!! I sent him a jar of his favorite frosting too :) I'm SO glad I was able to make him a birthday cake and make this day special for him, even from across the world! THANK YOU!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamfmw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
My best friends fiance is in Iraq and I made him cake because I was bored. My ex boyfriend along with about 8 of my other friends are also in Iraq and this is an awesome idea. They love it and it turns out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
this exploded on me!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
My sister and I made this with Cinnamon Swirl Cake mix to send to my husband who is in the military overseas (for his Birthday) We sent him 2 jars and tried one ourselves. It really does seal! One thing is you have to use no more than a CUP of cake batter or you will be cutting the top of your cake off before you put the lid on. Now if only I had a food saver bag to put some icing in there for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer McGroarty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This is a great idea and I really wanted it to work, as I was giving them as Christmas gifts to the girls at the office. One cup of cake batter per jar is not enough, I could never find the right amount to get them to fill the jar but not go over. Also when the jars sealed and began to cool down the condensation built up and you could see the cake getting soggy in the jar, yuck! Not a pretty presentation, I was running around at the last minute trying to find something to give instead of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmorgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I didn't get 8 either. But I used the WIDE-MOUTHED jars, so I figured that was to blame. They're still in the oven, almost ready. and will be traveling to the middle-east in a care package, along with a tub of icing for my husband whos birthday is soon. Thanks for the help, he'll get a big kick out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I loved this idea. I made it as a father's day gift and had a few cakes left for entertaining as well. I didn't get 8 jars but only 4 1/2. Still a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This is a GREAT ideal for anything. I have a son in Iraq and it was his Birthday. I made him this cake in a jar and sent it to him and some of the other soldiers to help him have a cake for his Birthday. It turned out great for him. He loved it so much. Thanks for the help to help the soldiers to have some home cooking from home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States