Cake in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This is a GREAT ideal for anything. I have a son in Iraq and it was his Birthday. I made him this cake in a jar and sent it to him and some of the other soldiers to help him have a cake for his Birthday. It turned out great for him. He loved it so much. Thanks for the help to help the soldiers to have some home cooking from home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
this exploded on me!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
I personally tried this recipe for mothers day gifts. It was the biggest hit! I also have my own frosting recipe so I purchased small canning jars with fancy lids and put the frosting in these jars and added them to the gift along with homade tags off the computer and everyone wanted this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
My sister and I made this with Cinnamon Swirl Cake mix to send to my husband who is in the military overseas (for his Birthday) We sent him 2 jars and tried one ourselves. It really does seal! One thing is you have to use no more than a CUP of cake batter or you will be cutting the top of your cake off before you put the lid on. Now if only I had a food saver bag to put some icing in there for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
This was such a great idea!! I made several different flavors during the holidays and made gift bags for the people I work with. They were huge hit! I used the small jars so I could give everyone a sample of each flavor. This year I am going to have to stock up on the jars because they were very hard to find that time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Putnam Waters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rossville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
What a cute idea ....I made them using the Chocolate Pudding Fudge Cake recipe and they looked great until they cooled ... shriveled in the jars and looked quite unappealing. The leftover batter I cooked in a pan and it tastes OK, but after all the work you still have to store the cakes in the freezer or eat them right away. On a good note ...I just found the Allrecipe web site this weekend and it is GREAT! Been glued to my computer since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This is a great idea and I really wanted it to work, as I was giving them as Christmas gifts to the girls at the office. One cup of cake batter per jar is not enough, I could never find the right amount to get them to fill the jar but not go over. Also when the jars sealed and began to cool down the condensation built up and you could see the cake getting soggy in the jar, yuck! Not a pretty presentation, I was running around at the last minute trying to find something to give instead of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmorgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Loved it. Made mine with spice cake mix and used applesauce instead of oil and added a few nuts. Fun to do also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I must have put too much batter in my jars, because it overflowed :) However, once I got that problem fixed, it worked out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
I made this up and took all eight jars to my Mom who has had a stroke and is unable to do much cooking on her own. These jars can be stored on a shelf and pulled out & used one at a time. Works out great for her!! Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States