Cake in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Sent this to a soldier in Iraq and he loved them. It took about 8 days to get them there and they arrived moist and fresh. I completely recommend this recipe!!! Try sending aersol can frosting w/the cakes - worked for me. Oh and YES, this recipe will survive the nasty heat in Iraq. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa B
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
My husband just received the cake in a jar today in Iraq and he said he LOVED THEM! I decorated them all patriotic for all the soldier with him. :) I am definitely going to send them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made it and it taste yummy! I love this.. I send my bf a cake in the jar. He's in iraq. It should take around 13 to 14 days to get to him. I just made a simple white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
While my fiancee was in the middle east I would would send him some sort of treat in a jar. I made breads, muffins (in the shape of a jar), cakes and brownies. They worked every time. Out of everything I sent him his favorite and first to go where always anything that came in a jar. It was a nice piece of home and my baking. Even all the guys in his division thanked me numerous times and even still they will tell me they always got excited for Scott's packages and the jars inside. If you have a loved one deployed do this and they will love it!! Promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I'm very excited to find this recipe. My husband is deployed and will miss his 40th birthday. I've done a trial run and it turned out great. I used German Choc. cake mix. His favorite. Before I put the seal and screwed the lid on I injected the icing into the middle with my cake decorator. That way all he has to do is open and enjoy. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Cravey Hires

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Made my boyfriend in Iraq his favorite cake for his birthday! Pineapple upside down cake! It worked, this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I used this recipe for a base idea of how to make jar cakes... Our favorite that we tried was Monkey Cake, just use store bought banana bread quick bread, and then top with milk chocolate frosting...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCADK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Great recipe! I made it for my co-workers and they loved it! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
How amazing was this!! I didn't know what to do for this deployment and I found this before he left. His birthday is today and I can't wait for him to get it. It taste a little different baked in a jar, but not to much. Thanks so much for such a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This is a great cooking activity for the family. My four year old was able to spoon the batter into the jars and help choose and tie the fabric to the jars with pretty ribbon. The kids were very proud of the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States