Cake in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Great tips! I used a slightly larger, rounded jar. I can't wait to give these as gifts for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I used this recipe to send to my husband for his birthday all 3 times he was deployed. Great for sending a "party in a box." I always sent frosting along with a bag of balloons to blow up and whatever silly games/toys/etc. I could find. This would also be a fun recipe for a themed party or to take on a picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I sent several of these to my fiancé, who is deployed overseas, for his birthday. He LOVED them! I used a chocolate cake mix and sent it with a tub of frosting. A few cakes came out of the jar in the oven (for whatever reason) but the ones that did come out were great. Some of the cakes looked like the bottoms were not done (they were lighter than the tops), but I tested one and it was fully cooked. All in all, excellent recipe! I was so glad that my soldier could eat cake on his birthday! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is such a great idea! My husband is deployed and I wanted to send him a cake for his birthday. I used a boxed cake and it only made 6 cakes in a jar. I kept one for myself and it was very moist and fresh! I will be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Emily P.
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I sent these to my husband in Iraq for his birthday. They traveled well, and so did the jars of frosting I sent with them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I've made these 3 times now and have been very pleased with the results! I've experimented with regular cake and even made a rum cake for Christmas gifts. If you only fill the jars 1/2 full, the cake can sometimes go over the top, but I just push it back down with the lid and it has always sealed properly. A big hit with my crowd! My latest is for a friend to celebrate her new house...the Post Office broke the first ones. Hope these get there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Good recipe, but a little off on the servings. No, it's not ideal to bake a cake in glass like this, but if you want to share it long-distance you don't have a lot of options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Loved the idea... Made Chocolate/Mayonaise cake. Got 7 1/2 half pints. Just perfect for taking in a lunch. My husband really liked them. Turned out so moist and good. Am making more today. I used 1/2 cup of batter in each jar. It raised just to the top of the jar. After putting the lid on they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This is fabulous for military families. I did this for my husband several times when he was in Iraq. But whenever I used a yellow cake mix it was spoiled by the time he got it. I think it has something to do with the light getting to it. But worked great for any dark cake mix. It is a must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I tried these out for a test. They were great? Going to make more for 4th of july. putting a stars and striped napkin tied with a wired stars ribbon, inserted with a fork. I also did what another lady did, and squeeze in icing in middle of cake, (like twinkie type,) before putting on lid. Decorating the jar is the fun part! Going to have a garden party, and I am serving everything in mason jars! Unless possibilities. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States