Cake and Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
What a delicious quick dessert to make. I used Cherry Icecream with whole cherries in it and this cake was a hit!! I'm going to make Raspberry Sorbet in my icecream maker next time and try a raspberry version. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
my mother used to make this but cut the angel food cake into 5 thin layers and added fresh strawberries and and drizzles of choc sauce on each layer and then froze it for a couple hours while we made dinner and ate. it was after doing the dishes we had dessert. drizzle a little choc sauce over each slice. i hadn't thought about this cake in years. thanks marilynrg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Felton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2000
I used orange sherbet and my family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
So I took some liberties but stayed true to the concept (kinda). I decided to use the vanilla creme cake and purchased Blue Bell vanilla ice cream (boy am I glad it was on sale, so good!). I cut the pound cake into three layers. Layered with cake, ice cream, cake, ice cream and last layer of cake. Froze to firm up the ice cream. Then I spread cool whip like icing all over cake and added decorations (was my daughter's birthday cake). EVERYONE not only loved it but were highly impressed that I'd made it! The cool whip hide the fact that it looked messy due to my imperfect technique (first time doing something like this). It came out so delicious and easy!! Next time I'll try the chocolate creme cake and rocky road ice cream. The possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Great recipe! As suggested by other reviewers, I sliced the angel food cake with a serrated knife and then… Just pick your favorite ice cream and toppings and go crazy! Do prepare the day before and put on the freezer, take it out when you serve dinner or about a ½ an hour before you need to serve it. I’ve made this three (3) times and friends keep asking me to make more! You can make a sauce to complement the ice cream you used, if you want to be fancy and/or the occasion demands it (use chocolate syrup for kids!). Last time (for a friend’s 40th) I used strawberry sauce (laced with wine) to soak the cake, it was really nice. Thank you! I don’t have to bake cakes anymore!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Adaptation: Layer angel cake. Layer peach ice cream. Layer raspberry pie filling. Repeat first two layers. Serve with Tipsy Peach Sauce made either with whiskey, peach brandy or Chambord Liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Today was my daughter Ashley's birthday and she loves angel food cake. As much as I love cooking that's how much I loathe baking, which was one of the reasons this recipe caught my eye. I'm sure both of my Oma's are looking down in despair! Anyway, like others, I changed it up a bit. Instead of breaking up the cake, I split it, put the ice cream on the bottom layer, topped it and glazed it with "Tunisianswife's chocolate glaze on this site. This was a great start Susan and we all (especially Ash) thank you for simple but delicious submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is delicious! I just made it for a birthday cake and used strawberry ice cream and added confetti sprinkles to the batter for a festive look. I did make a modification, however--instead of layering I just mixed the angel food chunks in with the ice cream. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I sliced the angel food cake into three layers and used vanilla ice cream to construct the dessert on a plate. I froze overnight and then applied a layer of raspberry sherbet - kind of like a (raspberry) creamsicle. Served with a simple raspberry sauce, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
This was the best ice cream cake I've ever had. Very easy and taste very good. Husband I loved it. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States