Cake Pops by Duncan Hines® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Looks pretty in the photo doesn't it? Seems like fun? What a nightmare!!! These are terribly hard to make! It takes a few hours and the clean up is horrible if you are using different types of chocolate. Most of the time the cake ball fell off the stick as I was dipping it. The chocolate never coated the cake ball nicely... I could go on and on ... and mine look a mess! I gave it one star because it is still sweet and tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Yeah. Sure sounds easy to make, my kids and I were super excited for this. Wrong! While it was tasty, it was kind if a nightmare. The cake balls fall off the stick 1/2 the time, and it is a HUGE mess. Afterward, my kitchen looked like a candy explosion. I'll find a different recipe if we do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I saw baseball cake pops on another site and I wanted to make them for DS's 4th birthday. I used this recipe and tips I'd found on the internet, like dipping the stick in melted coating before sticking into the ball. This helps them stick when dipping the entire ball into the coating. I also found the coating set faster after I placed the pops (uncoated) in the freezer for 15 mins. For me, the hardest part was waiting for the coating to dry so I could draw the red "seams." Overall I'm happy with the end result just took a little more time than I anticipated. I used chocolate cake mix and cream cheese frosting, and they tasted fantastic and stayed moist. DS had fun helping form the balls, then dipping the sticks and inserting into the pops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
We LOVED these, despite how long they took to make. (Anything shaped by hand is going to take a while - it's not a function of the recipe you use) My kids would have eaten all of them immediately if I had let them. I read a lot of other recipes before trying these and here are some tips that I found...1. Crumble the cake into crumbs, not just into chunks, before adding the frosting so that you don't have any dry pieces of cake in the pops - that might make them more likely to break during the dipping and tapping process 2. don't tap the cake pops on the side of the bowl as this loosens the cake and they will fall off. Hold the pop by the stick and with your other hand, tap your hand. This causes the chocolate to drip off without shaking the ball so hard that it falls off. Only one of mine fell off when doing this, but that one was a bit loosely packed when I was making the ball 3. I had a little difficulty getting the chocolate to drip off so I held 2 dipped balls in one hand, did the tapping, then lightly touched the 2 together and that caused that last big blob of coating to fall off. The times I didn't do this, it dripped off when the pops were standing upright so it was better to get the excess coating off right after the tapping and back into the bowl instead of dripping onto the counter! I used the devil's food cake mix and dark chocolate fudge icing and they were so rich and fudgy! Tomorrow I'm going to use the yellow cake and vanilla icing with a few drops of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Taste great! Kids loved them even though they looked a mess! If I had made them they would have looked more like the pictures (I wish I took one of ours!) The reason I made them was for the process with the kids. Rolling out the balls the melting chocolate, crumbling up a cake, melting chocolate! These are all really fun things for a kid. I knew it would it would be a nightmare mess and my kitchen did look like a candy explosion as one other reviewer warned but it was a joyful mess! I like to think of it as a great memory and experience with my kids rather than a nightmare. Making messes like that with your mom is what being a kid is all about. Make these, just don't try and make them perfect! When the ball falls off the stick cover it with chocolate, scoop it out with a spoon, put it in a tray and stick the stick in the top, and put it in the fridge or freezer. Just have fun! We called them cake blobs on a stick and had a great time. We sent our messy blobs in as my daughters birthday treat and all the kids were impressed. Worth the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I give! I could't get my melts to melt right so my I had to scoop the melts on the pop and they started falling off the stick. They look nothing like the picture. I gave up after pop number 4 and threw the rest of the pops in the back of the freezer. I think I'll stick with cupcakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twoyorkiesmom
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
First try and came out wonderfully!! Make sure you tab your hand gently to get rid of excess coating. Make a few at a time and leave the rest in the fridge until ready to dip them. Love theses Cake Pops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I had wanted to attempt cake pops for some time, but I was hesitant because I expected it to be a lot of work. It was, but the time and effort were well worth it! I made over 60 pops for a Halloween party and they were a smashing success! Everyone raved about how good they were; one guest ate 10 in a row! I enjoyed decorating them in fun and creative ways and I'm looking forward to coming up with new ideas this holiday season! I will say though, there is a fine line between too much frosting and not enough! I made one batch and they cracked a bit so I added more frosting the 2nd time and they were a little mushy and heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsblack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I loved this recipe. For people who have had troubles, you really need to read through the directions carefully a few times, and have patience. They are simple, but if you're sloppy, they're sloppy. The coating didn't turn out to be perfectly smooth - it had more of a swirly texture to it - but that could have very well been a mess up on my part. I'm 16, and I love to make these when I have get together or study groups, and everyone loves them. I also like to try and use different cake/frosting mixes, for example, Red Velvet/Cream Cheese, White/Strawberry, and the Confetti mixes. I also found that making very thin cake layers, and then cutting them into quarters to crumble is much easier. I hope I helped. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kierarose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is a great recipe! I saw one on Facebook recently that was similar. This is so easy and I don't know how anyone had any trouble with this. I made these with my daughter. We used French Vanilla Duncan Hines cake mix and a mixture of vanilla icing and cream cheese (so they weren't too sweet). Then we coated them with Aero Dark and Hershey's Milk Chocolate bars. We melted the chocolate over the stove (boiling water in a sauce pan with a metal bowl on top since microwaving chocolate is usually not recommended as it burns easily or doesn't melt thoroughly). We tried out six of them and they turned out beautifully! The other 35 are stored away in the freezer for cookie decorating for the holidays. It was easy to use the frozen cake balls from the deep freezer after about ten minutes of thawing. I plan to melt the chocolate, add the sticks and let the kids (between 4 and 11) dip and decorate. Should be messy but fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States