Cake Pops by Duncan Hines® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My 8 year old niece and I made some this past weekend and these are great! And, it's an excellent activity for family time. I took the recommendations of others and baked the cake the night before. Turned out perfect! Quick note, in my opinion, the Wilton Candy Melts taste better than using Baker's white chocolate baking squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh Brooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tjrbusiness
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
These cake pops were absolutely amazing! My cake pops were extremely tasty and I didn't make a lot of mess in the kitchen, but it took longer for me to prepare them, and I eliminated the sticks. I used the Duncan Hines Red Velvet with cream cheese frosting included in the package. After I crumbled the cake and mixed ALL of the frosting in, I made my balls then placed in the refrigerator overnight (on wax paper). The next day I melted Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate bars and dipped them completely (no sticks) and used two spoons to get them out and placed them on wax paper to "dry." Before they dried, I sprinkled with candy sprinkles. I tried to make them with the sticks, but my balls were slightly large and too heavy to stay on the them. I just put the finished cake pops in a baggie and they were ready to enjoy! (They didn't last long!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
TAPPING TIPS!! After swirling your pop in the candy coating, support your pop with a fork. Tap the fork on the edge of the bowl while loosely holding the stick to prevent the pop from falling off of the fork. When you're done tapping, lift the pop off of the fork and gently "kiss" the candy coating to cover up the fork print.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I teach first grade and have a student whose family was not able to provide a party for her. She really wanted cake pops so - seriously -what could I do. The kids loved the flavor and have no idea that it took me several hours to create these delicious bites when I should have been entering grades. I think I made the better choice considering the look on the birthday girl's face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Made these twice in two weeks. Made non cake eaters love it cuz u can choose how much you have. I heeded the warnings and tips and didn't have nearly as much trouble as people made it out to be. To make more simpler, I just baked the cake the night before and it cooled overnight and in the morning, I just roiled and dipped the balls and was done in just over an hour!!!!! Please do this, it will save you time. Also, I did not refrigerate them at all so I didn't have sweating problems or problems with the chocolate turning color. Please give them a try, you won't be sorry and they are definitely worth it, lots of fun, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
i totally agree with shyvv. i had no problem shaping the cake pops but when it came to coating them it was a complete mess. hated it. there must be something missing in these directions. someone please post some helpful hints for us first timers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandyjay01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Thought these turned out great. Yes, they take a long time to make. But, they make a special occasion even more special, and are endlessly customizable! Turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is a great recipe! I saw one on Facebook recently that was similar. This is so easy and I don't know how anyone had any trouble with this. I made these with my daughter. We used French Vanilla Duncan Hines cake mix and a mixture of vanilla icing and cream cheese (so they weren't too sweet). Then we coated them with Aero Dark and Hershey's Milk Chocolate bars. We melted the chocolate over the stove (boiling water in a sauce pan with a metal bowl on top since microwaving chocolate is usually not recommended as it burns easily or doesn't melt thoroughly). We tried out six of them and they turned out beautifully! The other 35 are stored away in the freezer for cookie decorating for the holidays. It was easy to use the frozen cake balls from the deep freezer after about ten minutes of thawing. I plan to melt the chocolate, add the sticks and let the kids (between 4 and 11) dip and decorate. Should be messy but fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I loved this recipe. For people who have had troubles, you really need to read through the directions carefully a few times, and have patience. They are simple, but if you're sloppy, they're sloppy. The coating didn't turn out to be perfectly smooth - it had more of a swirly texture to it - but that could have very well been a mess up on my part. I'm 16, and I love to make these when I have get together or study groups, and everyone loves them. I also like to try and use different cake/frosting mixes, for example, Red Velvet/Cream Cheese, White/Strawberry, and the Confetti mixes. I also found that making very thin cake layers, and then cutting them into quarters to crumble is much easier. I hope I helped. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kierarose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I had wanted to attempt cake pops for some time, but I was hesitant because I expected it to be a lot of work. It was, but the time and effort were well worth it! I made over 60 pops for a Halloween party and they were a smashing success! Everyone raved about how good they were; one guest ate 10 in a row! I enjoyed decorating them in fun and creative ways and I'm looking forward to coming up with new ideas this holiday season! I will say though, there is a fine line between too much frosting and not enough! I made one batch and they cracked a bit so I added more frosting the 2nd time and they were a little mushy and heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsblack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States