Cake Pops by Duncan Hines® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Dont let bad reviews hinder you from trying these. If you squeeze the balls tight enough (lol) they wont fall off the stick, which seems to be the biggest complaint. I had NO cakepops fall off the stick.also I used bamboo forks, easier to find. Simple recipe, took me about 2 hours work time to make. Tastes great,. I will admit a bit messy but not to messy. Great recipe I have every intention of making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
These are awesome, just a little time consuming, but worth it. My daughter and I have made these for birthday parties, special occasions and just because. Everyone raves about our cake pops and asks for more. We have had people pay us to do them for them for an occasion that they are attending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
A video I saw for the easy (and clean) making of these had us put the coating on the stick, insert it into the cold cake pop, then place it into the freezer for about five minutes. I think this step allowed the coating to harden more securely to the stick so they would not fall off. I don't think one or two minutes would have been enough time to secure those pops to the sticks, and they would have fallen off. Worked for me. Taste was good...my technique was better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYFERN31

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I wish I can say I loved it and that it was so easy but in reality it really wasn't. It was easy at first baking the cake, crumbling it, then rolling to a ball. But once I started coating it, it came out TERRIBLE! The candy melts were just to thick. When I read the reviews and I saw several people put nightmare and I didn't get what they meant but once I started decorating just terrible I will never try again. The cake pop came out clumpy with the candy melt and just weird. I tried it with this recipe and with a cake pop machine and normal thin icing. I liked the cake pop machine with normal icing better. It was super messy and just not even worth it. I cant say I will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
i love it. so do my kids! its not even that big a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
It was easy for me and I have some tips please read it will be easier I promise. First do some research youtube was perfect. Then in the mist of baking lower the temp in your refrigerator or freeze longer this will make it easier to dip in the candy melts freeze with sticks in! Also instead use red velvet cake mix instead hold better and also tastes better! follow these tips for success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I am confused as to what is the 1/3 cup of water (for filling). What filling? I just made the cake as directed on the box and ignored that water. Hope they turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Really easy to make and they taste great! Kids love them and they are perfect for bake sales! They do take some time and patience, but they are worth it. Much better than paying $2 each for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This is exactly the recipe I use. Yes, it is time consuming. Yes it is messy, but with a little practice and experimentation, you can have these down to a science in no time. Tip: make the cake ahead of time and freeze it. Crumble with the icing and freeze it again. As you shape the balls, they stick better. Freeze after making the balls and after inserting the stick. I put my stick into the candy before adding oil,mso it firms up a little more. I use a double boiler and it is much easier. Sometimes I pour a bit of melted candy into a glass tumbler so it is easier to coat the whole thing. If you leave the ball in the hot chocolate too long, it will melt and fall off. I learned this from experience and it is just common sense. I use homemade icing and they are even more delicious. Everyone ALWAYS wants the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My 8 year old niece and I made some this past weekend and these are great! And, it's an excellent activity for family time. I took the recommendations of others and baked the cake the night before. Turned out perfect! Quick note, in my opinion, the Wilton Candy Melts taste better than using Baker's white chocolate baking squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States