Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Excellent recipe! The cake has none of that "boxed" flavor. However, like others, I too, have tweaked it! My advise is: Place flour, baking powder, and salt into a bowl and use a whisk to "sift". In your mixer bowl place sugar and 1/2 cup sweetened applesauce (this might help the sweetness problem others are having) and mix until sugar is well blended. Add eggs 1 at a time and use 3 eggs. With mixer running add flour mixture alternating with milk mixing well after each addition ending with flour mixture. I bake it in a bundt pan for 50-60 minutes. My variations: Orange cake add 1/2 cup orange juice and an extra 1/2 cup flour. Lemon cake same as orange. I made the spice cake and added 3 grated carrots to the batter. I add all kinds of fruit, chopped apples, or cherries, or whatever is in season. Nuts and/or mini chocolate chips are great too. Hope this helps others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
As has been suggested previously, use oil instead of shortening and this comes out great. Also use the pineapple juice if making the upside down pineapple cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
DRY! I made the white cake version and it was dry as can be. Pretty tasteless, my 6 year old grand daughter said it tasted like "cookie powder" which is flour. Sorry, won't try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I was so excited to make this cake from reading the reviews. I did a trial with it yesterday before my sons 1st birthday. The top came out hard and the bottom was very soft and I didn't find it to have much flavor. I followed the directions exactly and didn't even go the full time limit. I was very disappointed. I made the yellow cake first. I also tried the chocolate cake and the same thing happened. Glad I did not try this for my sons party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. I used the Yellow Cake directions but I added a package of instant banana pudding. I made to cakes out of it in order to make the Banana Flips I also found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyrenee726

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This cake is very dense and dry. I even tried the changes the others had mentioned. I made the white cake and it did not turn out moist at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
i made the yellow cake. I substituted the shortening with 1/2 cup vegetable oil. my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by down2earthtami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
If I could I would give it more stars!!!!! Used oil instead of shortning and mixed whites seperatly. Came out perfect moist and fluffy! Thank for this great recipie!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The first time I used this recipe I made the yellow cake just as the recipe was written. I wasn't impressed. The cake was very rubbery and dense. I decided to try this recipe again with a few modifications. I made the chocolate version using cake flour, 1 1/4 c milk, oil instead of shortening and beat the eggs whites separately folding them in at the end. The cake texture came out a little, but not much better. And the chocolate flavor was barely detectable. As this is probably the only from scratch cake mix on this site I will keep on making modifications until the cake texture and taste is to my liking because I cannot stand the boxed stuff. Good start to work with though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
needed 1 1/2 cups milk, use softened butter instead of shortening (cut to 1/2 tsp salt if using salted butter) comes out perfect every time. often sub extracts, i love lemon. sooo much better than a box. for pineapple upside down: use as much juice as you can get out of the can and add milk to equal 1 1/2 cups, my entire family requests this cake often. i make this one in my cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States