Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I've used this recipe for quite some time now and have never been disappointed. My favorite is the pineapple upside down cake variation. :) Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirkie1
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffness23
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Wow! Very good and very versatile!! I took the advice of a reviewer and did it with oil instead of butter/shortening, and it was truly delicious. I topped with powdered sugar, and for some, I dropped in a Hershey's Kiss. Simply lovely.... but seriously, use oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was very easy to make and was really good. My husband doesnt want me to use cake mixes anymore, he wants the cake from scratch. It was dense but it was still good. I made the homemade peanut butter frosting from this site with the white cake and it was awesome awesome awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Waterford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
i followed this reciepe to the letter and i did not like this at all. it was very dry and tasteless. hopefully some other reciepes are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I am puzzled by some of the reviews here. Why would anyone want a cake that tastes like a cake mix? The only good cake mix is a dead one. Is the goal to make an inedible cake???!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made the chocolate variation of this cake, it was the most flavorless homemade chocolate cake I've ever had. I upped the cocoa and used oil instead of the shortening, so that I would have a moister cake. I had to smother it in chocolate ganache to give it flavor (chocolate ganache makes everything better) I'll never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was excellent, although if I were to ever make one cake out of this I would use 3 eggs. I also used butter flavored shortening, and was so pleased with the results that I will stick with that next time, too. The reason I suggest 3 eggs is that my 6 year old wanted to make "chocolate, vanilla and strawberry" cupcakes with the baking set she got today that included a mini-muffin pan. So, we split the dry batter (flour, baking powder, sugar and shortening) three ways: added a heaping tbsp. of cocoa for the chocolate; about 2 tsp strawberry gelatin (we used the kind with sugar - if using sugar free, you would obviously reduce the amount) for the strawberry and left the plain as is for vanilla. Added one egg, 1 tsp vanilla and close to 1/2 cup milk to each batch. Seriously, the best-tasting, moistest homemade cupcakes I have ever made. And so easy, my daughter could do most of it herself! We actually beat everything by hand until the batters were a smooth, pourable consistency. We got twelve mini-cupcakes of each flavor, plus had enough batter to make a 6" vanilla, chocolate & strawberry marble cake (for Dad!) So my advice - use three eggs, a little more vanilla, butter-flavored shortening and probably closer to 1 3/4 cup milk total. Tastes nothing like a box mix, but a great homemade (and EASY!) cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I tried this recipe for a baby shower and everyone raved about it. Definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THUNDERKATZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I was looking for a cake recipe that i could make from scratch and get a box mix type of flavour and texture, but as other reviewers i have to agree its not like the box mixes at all. I used oil and increased the milk to 1 1/2 cups.. the result... the cake rose beautifully, was golden brown on the outside and white on the inside flavour= fresh out of the oven it tasted like flour, oil and eggs, kind of sticky although when i checked to see if it was done the toothpick came out clean... 2 days later, the flavour was MUCH better, not at all like it was the first day. texture= very soft and moist in the end i think if i ever make this again i will make it a day or two before i need it coz it really changes the flavour to resemble a box cake to some extent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Terrific base recipe. I baked the yellow cake today to take to a church function and it was a huge hit. I used 1/2 cup softened butter instead of shortening and added 1 cup of sour cream to the mixture and baked in a bundt pan at 325 for 50 minutes. The cake was so moist it was falling apart! I also made an orange glaze and drizzled over the entire cake. This recipe is so much better (and cheaper) than buying box cake mixes and it takes no time to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States