Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I've been using this recipe for about 4 years now and I love it. I wanted to have control over the ingredients. I follow Janet's directions but add in some of the comments from reviews (such as adding more milk, using oil or butter in place of shortening, combining ingredients in separate bowls and then gradually together, beating the egg whites) I usually make the white cake for birthdays and Easter cupcakes. Thank you Janet for providing this good recipe! And thank you reviewers for the tips you've left. I'm rather inexperienced so it helps to know what changes I can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Tasty! I was a little skeptical when tasting the batter, but the end product is very good. I made the yellow cake into cupcakes. Yes, I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keyser, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I thought this was a very simple and good recipe. I did use oil instead of shortening because I had none in the house but it still worked out quite well. My main concern with mixes is the moistness so I did add an extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I did not have a box cake mix on hand and really wanted to make a cake for our St Patty's Day dinner. This recipe worked great! I used egg whites, half Spenda for sugar, half applesause & half oil for the shortening called for. I also added 1/2 cup of amaretto and subbed almond extract for vanilla to make an amaretto cake. I baked in a bundt pan for 50 minutes (bit too long), and used a drizzle for frosting. This worked just as great as a box cake - thanks for saving me in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
3 stars? Not crazy about this recipe, didn't care for the taste or smell, but they came out of the oven perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I've used this recipe for quite some time now and have never been disappointed. My favorite is the pineapple upside down cake variation. :) Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirkie1
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffness23
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Wow! Very good and very versatile!! I took the advice of a reviewer and did it with oil instead of butter/shortening, and it was truly delicious. I topped with powdered sugar, and for some, I dropped in a Hershey's Kiss. Simply lovely.... but seriously, use oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was very easy to make and was really good. My husband doesnt want me to use cake mixes anymore, he wants the cake from scratch. It was dense but it was still good. I made the homemade peanut butter frosting from this site with the white cake and it was awesome awesome awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Waterford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
i followed this reciepe to the letter and i did not like this at all. it was very dry and tasteless. hopefully some other reciepes are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I am puzzled by some of the reviews here. Why would anyone want a cake that tastes like a cake mix? The only good cake mix is a dead one. Is the goal to make an inedible cake???!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States