Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This has been my go to recipe for three years now. My first cake came out a little rough, but a lot of practice, patience, and butter, I've been creating wonder and delicious cakes. Recently, I've being adding Greek yogurt in to my milk, and olive oil with to my butter (I do not believe in shorting and I absolutely refuse to ever use margarine.) Neither takes away or changes the flavor of the cake, and the yogurt helps with make the cake moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Simple. Quick. Tasty. Easy for anyone to make and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I made this in a bundt pan twice in one day (chocolate variation) for my two girls' birthday parties this weekend. I may never make a box mix cake again, although I have to make note of my changes to both directions and ratios. In a large bowl, I sifted flour, 1/3 c cocoa and baking powder together with salt. In mixing bowl I blended oil (instead of shortening), sugar, 1-1/4 c milk, and 1/4 c creme de cacao. In a small bowl I whipped the eggs to a froth. After slowly adding flour mixture to oil mixture just until blended, I folded the frothy eggs into the batter and turned the whole thing into the greased and floured bundt pan. Baked at 325 for 40 minutes, it came out moist and bursting with personality. I'm hoping the birthday party guests don't eat all of it, because kids can't possibly appreciate this as much as I will, after the end of the second party with a glass of champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Bee in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
i am revising this recipe down to 1 3/4 cup flour, and replacing shortening with 3/4 cup unsalted butter. also a dash more vanilla and a sprinkle more sugar. so... if you are DEAD set on using this recipe listed above, please be cautious of your flour... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I made the Yellow cake, took the suggestion from another review to use oil and 1 1/c cups of milk, and it turned out great. I've mad a few cakes from scratch, and this one was the best so far. I think however the cake it self needed a little more sugar, but everybody else seemd to think it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Made The Pineapple Cake.Not Sweet Enough. Would Add more sugar.Just an OK Cake. I Adjusted with Cake Flour,I used 3 eggs,Used 1/2 c oil,cut milk in half and added 1/2 c drained pineapple(crushed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Ive used this recipe about a million times. thanks!!! Its the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
goodbye boxed cake mix! I made the chocolate version. Only change I made was to use canola oil instead of shortening. It tasted like it came from a bakery...fresh, perfectly dense, yet moist. I made 6 jumbo cupcakes (Wilton's 6- 2 piece cupcake pan) and just put frosting between the layers & on top cause the sides didn't need to be "hidden" by the delicious tasting cake! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Awesome Recipe. This cakes tastes like it came from the bakery! Reminds me of a European recipe or wedding cake. It is a denser cake but comes out delish! I made no changes to this recipe and it made a beautiful birthday cake! Can't wait to try out some variations, i.e. lemon, or chocolate. thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I made this recipe today [yellow cake with organge extract] but I made one important change: the way the batter is mixed. I hate to cut in and thought there might be a way to avoid it. Here is the streamlined version: Wisk together/stir together/sift flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder in a large mixing bowl. Make a well in the center and add shortening, milk, extract, and eggs. Mix on low for 1 minute, scraping bowl as needed. Increase mixer speed to high and beat two minutes longer, scraping bowl down as needed. Pour into prepared pan and bake. The cake was light,moist, and tasty. Adding more or even double the extract is not a bad idea; my cake was very lightly orange flavored. I read a number of reviews and have some suggestions for those of you who had trouble with this recipe: 1. Check your baking powder. Is it outdated? Also shake your baking powder before measuring it or it may not leaven correctly. 2. Time yourself when mixing. You may think you've mixed the batter for 2 minutes, but have you really? Try this recipe--you may never open another box of cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States