Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Used these recipes to make cake balls also from this site....totally perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I don't find yellow cake mix where I live, so now I can still make all other recipies that mention it on this site :) The yellow mix I tried turned out quite heavy but I don't know if that is the way it should turn out. But anyhow, thanks again for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Very simple directions to follow. So easy that the kids were able to help. Only thing I did different was I split the batter between to 9inch round pans which altered the cooking time some. And coated it with yummy chocolate buttercream on the yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Awesome! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Love this recipe. Made the white cake for my hubby and daughter and they raved about it. I love that it would be a great recipe for me to use to cut and create a great cake for my daughter's birthday. It is sugary and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Cake is light and fluffy with excellent taste! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUESUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Just made to white cake version and it was DELICIOUS! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This is great. I made the yellow/pineapple upside down cake. Did everything according to recipe, except I used tequilla mix instead of milk and I used five 8-0z pineapple cans to bake. I have a lot of tequilla mix because I am losing weight so not drinking right now. As for sweets, I find that a little is better than none and much much better than a lot. I am a 70 year-old bachlor having fun learning to cook from scratch. I have finally learned that if you want to lose and maintain weight loss, you need to knowm what you are eating and how much. Sorry, didn't mean to get up on a soap box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This recipe was delicious with some variations mentioned by other reviewers. I used melted butter instead of shortening, reduced the sugar to 1 1/3 c. and used 1 1/2 c. milk. The crumb of the cake was moist and firm. I am so excited to try the chocolate and white variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States