Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The first time I used this recipe I made the yellow cake just as the recipe was written. I wasn't impressed. The cake was very rubbery and dense. I decided to try this recipe again with a few modifications. I made the chocolate version using cake flour, 1 1/4 c milk, oil instead of shortening and beat the eggs whites separately folding them in at the end. The cake texture came out a little, but not much better. And the chocolate flavor was barely detectable. As this is probably the only from scratch cake mix on this site I will keep on making modifications until the cake texture and taste is to my liking because I cannot stand the boxed stuff. Good start to work with though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
needed 1 1/2 cups milk, use softened butter instead of shortening (cut to 1/2 tsp salt if using salted butter) comes out perfect every time. often sub extracts, i love lemon. sooo much better than a box. for pineapple upside down: use as much juice as you can get out of the can and add milk to equal 1 1/2 cups, my entire family requests this cake often. i make this one in my cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I tried this recipe and even made changes like the others suggested to make lighter. It was still like a brick and bad, bad, bad. Good thing I experimented before the big day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This cake gets a one star rating for the taste. I followed some recommendations and substituted oil and added 1 1/2 cups of milk, however, this still tasted horrible. It was very similar to a pancake and was not sweet enough. I even went back to the recipe thinking I must have done something wrong, but no, this cake was just plain inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made the yellow cake version yesterday to make cupcakes, they were so good. The recipe was is very simple to follow; however I did make some changes and I do have some suggestions. I used one extra egg and also added about 1/3 cup of sour cream. I also added a little more sugar, the next time I will make it an even 2 cups of white sugar. When adding the ingredients to each other combine the dry ingredients in one bowl and the wet in the other and mix well. Next you want to slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry. I also recommend the eggs and milk being at room temp before mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cottageville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I used the white cake recipe without changing anything. The cupcakes turn out moist and light. In order to get the light/fluffy consistency, the egg whites need to be folded in. I will try the yellow cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Made the yellow cake tonight. Holy ! Delicious, light and fluffy, great texture and taste. Blows boxed cakes out of the water. This is my new go-to cake recipe. I used butter instead of shortening (not a fan of shortening really).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
LOVE THESE!!!! A GREAT OPTION FOR ME BECAUSE I'M ALLERGIC TO A LOT OF THINGS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This cake turned out super moist and fluffy (I made 2 of them).They were not dense at all. I find creaming the butter and sugar first easier them just throwing the first 5 ingredients together but other then that, the cake tastes great. The trick is to not over mix the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My 14 year old son made this recipe only he added cinnamon chips to it for a variation and it turned out wonderful on his first try. I have to say this is a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States