Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Be sure to either use less flour or more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
First time i made this! Turned out great! Better then store brands and you know whats in it! Used this for better then sex cake cause it called for a yellow cake mix! Yummy! Lilly 11
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Yum - made with 1.5 cups milk. Otherwise just as written for the chocolate variety. Yummy. Not dense, no problems. And best of all simple with standard ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
WOW I cant believe my cake worked !!! Im so shocked ... My cakes never work out not even the boxed ones.. Im glad this one worked cuz its my birthday and I baked it for me and the family !! First I sprayed my pan with nonstick spray then mixed 1 stick of melted butter with 2/3 cups of brown sugar and poured onto the bottom of the pan..topped the sugar/butter mixture with pineapple rings..then I thought I messed up the cake batter beacuse I thought I added only a 1 tsp of baking powder instead of a 1 tablespoon either way it looks so good.. I did however use 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup of pineapple juice in place of the 1 cup of milk.. 1 stick of real butter instead of shorting.. 3 eggs instead of 2..mixed the dry .. then the wet.. then combined both dry and wet..then into the mixture I added a smashed over ripe banana.. set the cake mixture asside...and wow it looks so beautiful I cant believe I baked that!! gonna run to the store pickup some cherries and place cherries in the pineapple rings.. Because this came out so good I I created a password and userid now im a member !! LOL added this to my Recipe Box I love this !! Thanks so much..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
omg very good recipe exactly liked box mix. You can manipulate this and make a ton of cakes w/ this. I will most definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is a very good recipe. If you want it moister go for an extra egg. Plus I found if making chocolate cake mix, baking soda seems to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I've used this yellow cake for 4 yrs now. Last year, I tried the pineapple upside down cake variation for my husband's birthday & he's asking for it again this year. It's always turned out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
My 9 year old won a first place and a reserve champion ribbon using this recipe for her 4H baking contest. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
So glad I found this recipe for my first from-scratch cake! The only thing I did was add a 1/2 cup milk as per many other reviews. It is so delicious and I have already used it twice in a week! I will never make a box cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This has been my go to recipe for three years now. My first cake came out a little rough, but a lot of practice, patience, and butter, I've been creating wonder and delicious cakes. Recently, I've being adding Greek yogurt in to my milk, and olive oil with to my butter (I do not believe in shorting and I absolutely refuse to ever use margarine.) Neither takes away or changes the flavor of the cake, and the yogurt helps with make the cake moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States