Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I followed the directions and they came out tasting like cornbread!! I have no idea what the heck I did wrong. So, for cornbread it's pretty good but for cake mix it was pretty gross. Did the yellow cake version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I really appreciate this recipe for scratch cake. My husband is on a low sodium diet. When I make something from scratch, I use low sodium baking powder. It really lowers the sodium count for recipes. Thanks Linda/Mi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Okay, I read all the reviews that said "more flavor", and after making the chocolate variety (w/ the oil sub.) and the texture being great but it not being chocolatey at all... I thought -they can't all be wrong- so I increased the sugar to 2 c. and WHAT A MESS! The whole thing went FLAT and it was like a sugar cookie topped cake and the middle was too moist! My suggestion (and my husbands) kick up the flavor DON'T touch the rest of the recipe (oh, except for the oil sub. - that's a keeper! )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I made this with the suggestions of using oil and more milk and the texture was light and fluffy. The yellow cake had no flavor. Great texture, but without the icing this would have tasted like air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This cake got such good reviews overall that I had to try it. I live overseas and don't have any cake mixes available. I made the chocolate version, following quantities exactly but replacing shortening with oil and mixing first dry, then wet, dry into wet and then eggs (as rec'd by so many reviews). It was the most tasteless cake I've ever had. It's a good thing I found a yummy icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I was not impressed. I don't use cake mixes from boxes and I am constantly searching for a good yellow cake from scratch...in my opinion this is not it. The hunt is still on. I was willing to even give it 2 stars because taste is relative. Too heavy, poor flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraht1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I love this recipe because it is so versatile. Thanks so much for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
i ONLY gave this 4 stars because i feel bad for giving it one. The cake was very dense, did not rise much at all. We still atesome of it. I will stick to my normal recipe, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mallo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
MY DAUGHTER MADE THIS CAKE FOR MY BIRTHDAY IT WAS VERY MOIST AND TASTED GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I just made this cake and it is so good. Perfect density. It will be my yellow cake recipe from now on. Used unsalted butter in place of shortening. It is important to sift the dry ingredients at least once. Twice is better. Once all ingredients are in bowl mix for 3-4 minutes as suggested with mixer for a smooth batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebraF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States