Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Moist and amazing. I made this once with olive oil which was really good, and a second time with just a few tablespoons of oil and the rest applesauce...Still amazing and less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I made the white version-sifted the dry TWICE, and beat the egg whites as recommended, used Crisco and followed EXACTLY---corn bread texture, taste OK but none of kids at it the party ate it ---I should have used a mix--safer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I used this recipe to make white cake. It was good, but very dense. You may want to add a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I used this recipe for chocolate cupcakes. They turned out nice and moist, but the flavor just wasn't was I was looking for. I woud try again one of the different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Definitely have to mix the wet ingredients first, add the sugar, then the other dry ingredients. Then it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Used this recipe to make some cupcakes and got positive responses from everyone. Used the suggestions and added more milk and used oil instead of shortening. Texture turned out great. I kind of messed up on the egg whites in the beginning but after adding a tbsp. of sugar and 1/8 tsp. of cream and tartar it stiffened correctly. Will try this recipe out again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I'll never buy a boxed mix again! No reason to! This recipe is super easy and super delicious. I used these for cupcakes and they came out soft, light and moist. The were the perfect consistency and taste. I tried just the vanilla cake mix, the next time I'll try the variations. Very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very light and tasty...will cut back on the sugar the next time I make this recipe as it was a bit sweet for my taste. I used oil instead of shortening as suggested and I added about 1/4 cup more milk too. I made cupcakes (24) which baked with a dome top that was perfect for a poured fondant recipe I found here on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
We made the chocolate version. We are grateful to another reviewer for the oil substitution. It makes a big difference..the cake was so fluffy! This was amazingly easy. I will never buy another cake mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a great base recipe. The yellow mix is fabulous; very fluffy and moist. I tried the chocolate and I was disappointed. It needs more cocoa. My husband didn't even know it was chocolate. I have been looking for something that I could use in replace of store bought cake mixes and this is definitely it. It just needs a tweak or two to make it work for me. No more chemically enhanced cake mixes for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Eastin Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States