Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Cake is light and fluffy with excellent taste! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUESUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Just made to white cake version and it was DELICIOUS! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This is great. I made the yellow/pineapple upside down cake. Did everything according to recipe, except I used tequilla mix instead of milk and I used five 8-0z pineapple cans to bake. I have a lot of tequilla mix because I am losing weight so not drinking right now. As for sweets, I find that a little is better than none and much much better than a lot. I am a 70 year-old bachlor having fun learning to cook from scratch. I have finally learned that if you want to lose and maintain weight loss, you need to knowm what you are eating and how much. Sorry, didn't mean to get up on a soap box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This recipe was delicious with some variations mentioned by other reviewers. I used melted butter instead of shortening, reduced the sugar to 1 1/3 c. and used 1 1/2 c. milk. The crumb of the cake was moist and firm. I am so excited to try the chocolate and white variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Cooking time didn't work for me. Could be my pan? It took approximately 35 minutes. Great tasting though, so four stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Excellent basic yellow cake recipe. Great texture and flavor. Used butter instead of shortening. Made about 15 muffins. Refer to the photo to see how nicely it rose into dome on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Absolutely the BEST cake I've ever made!!! I followed the prior suggestions of using oil instead of shortening, and increasing the milk to 1 1/2 C. I made mine almond flavored by using 1/2 tsp of almond extract, with 1/2 tsp vanilla, instead of the 1 tsp vanilla. I don't have a sifter so I made sure to avoid packing down the dry ingredients and mixed them loosely with a fork. My fiance and I both raved about it and I can't wait to try the other variations, playing around with new flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatBeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Very good but had to back a little longer due to oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Super good. I used all organic ingredients, and it came out lovely and fairly wholesome. I whipped my eggs and then folded them into the other ingredients. Thanks for sharing, Janet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Wonderful homemade cake recipe. As other reviewers suggested I sifted the flour for the white cake recipe, subbed oil for the shortening, and I folded in beaten egg whites last. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divinity68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States