Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Cooking time didn't work for me. Could be my pan? It took approximately 35 minutes. Great tasting though, so four stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Excellent basic yellow cake recipe. Great texture and flavor. Used butter instead of shortening. Made about 15 muffins. Refer to the photo to see how nicely it rose into dome on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Absolutely the BEST cake I've ever made!!! I followed the prior suggestions of using oil instead of shortening, and increasing the milk to 1 1/2 C. I made mine almond flavored by using 1/2 tsp of almond extract, with 1/2 tsp vanilla, instead of the 1 tsp vanilla. I don't have a sifter so I made sure to avoid packing down the dry ingredients and mixed them loosely with a fork. My fiance and I both raved about it and I can't wait to try the other variations, playing around with new flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatBeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Very good but had to back a little longer due to oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Super good. I used all organic ingredients, and it came out lovely and fairly wholesome. I whipped my eggs and then folded them into the other ingredients. Thanks for sharing, Janet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Wonderful homemade cake recipe. As other reviewers suggested I sifted the flour for the white cake recipe, subbed oil for the shortening, and I folded in beaten egg whites last. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divinity68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I am completely aware that this is my fault and in no means the recipe, but I made the lemon cake variation and it was not good at all. all I tasted was the baking powder. I am sadly known for my cakes tasting like baking powder or baking soda. I don't know what I am doing wrong. I even put half the amount of what was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasangel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I've made the spice cake and the chocolate version of this so far, using the recommended oil and extra milk. The spice cake is wonderful. The chocolate could use a bit more cocoa powder (maybe even twice as much) but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I tried the yellow cake, I've been searching for a yellow cake recipe similar to the box cake mix since I am currently living in a third world country and have no access to box cake mix. This recipe was as close as I've gotten. The consistency was very good but I can't say the same about the taste. Any suggestions on how to make it taste less floury and more cakey? Any suggestions will be appreciated! I followed the reviewers suggestions adding 1/2 cup oil instead of shortening and 1/2 more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Moist and amazing. I made this once with olive oil which was really good, and a second time with just a few tablespoons of oil and the rest applesauce...Still amazing and less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States