Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Looks like I'm the odd baker out. While this recipe IS easy and quick, the end result lacks a from-scratch texture and flavor. I followed the recipe for the base cake mix as written the first time and substituted oil for the shortening the second time. Both times the baked cakes looked divine.... but even after brushing with a simple syrup and frosting with a chocolate buttercream, the cakes were just fair. Thanks to Janet, though, for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I made the pineapple upside down version with the yellow cake mix and took it to a family gathering. Everyone loved it and it was still moist two days later (it made a lot!) Thanks for sharing all the basic recipes - I brought English recipes to Canada with me but they don't work without modifications because the flour in Canada is different (coarser or finer, not sure which) so the basics are a great addition to my cookbook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Used these recipes to make cake balls also from this site....totally perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I don't find yellow cake mix where I live, so now I can still make all other recipies that mention it on this site :) The yellow mix I tried turned out quite heavy but I don't know if that is the way it should turn out. But anyhow, thanks again for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Nwankwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Very simple directions to follow. So easy that the kids were able to help. Only thing I did different was I split the batter between to 9inch round pans which altered the cooking time some. And coated it with yummy chocolate buttercream on the yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Awesome! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Love this recipe. Made the white cake for my hubby and daughter and they raved about it. I love that it would be a great recipe for me to use to cut and create a great cake for my daughter's birthday. It is sugary and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Cake is light and fluffy with excellent taste! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUESUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Just made to white cake version and it was DELICIOUS! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States