Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Turned out fantastic! Kids loved it and it was super easy to make. I did the white cake version and after reading some reviews, substituted the veg oil. It was my first ever cake from scratch, and I will never use a box again! Soo much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is a very very dence cake! After trying a small peice, I decided to turn it into a jello poke cake with cool whip frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
this is a very dense cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camismommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
THis did NOT go well for me a all i had a teribble time with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom&daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richland Center, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
AWESOME!!!! I made the yellow cake version and used it in a pineapple upsided down cake recipe. I tweaked it a bit as per the other reviewers' suggestions. I used oil instead of shortening, I sifted my flour and I made sure not to "play around" with the flour too much while mixing it in with the eggs , milk etc. Also, because I was using the cake in a pineapple upsided down cake recipe, I used 1 cup of milk and a 1/2 cup of pineapple juice. The result was a delicious moist cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This recipe is quick, easy, and delicious! I liked it a lot, and my dad really liked it. Review by my 11 year old daughter who has made this several times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sumner, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
everybody loves this recipe, i made pineapple upsidedown cake with this recipe and came out soooo finger kicking good. i also made chocolate cake with it it was also very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
i made this as the chocolate cake. I did not care for this. No chocolate flavor, it actually didn't taste good and it had a sugar crust like it wasnt mixed right, which i know it was , I did it in my kitchen aid. It baked up very wierd. I added more milk then the recipe called for since the mix was very thick. I wont make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3littlangls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I have found this recipe very useful; I can make a full size cake, but easily make an 8" cake or even make a quarter sized cake without any difficulty (for a small, individual birthday cake). I make this mix up and store it in an air tight container, and then measure out what I need - I mix all the dry ingredients together and then measure 4 1/4 C dry ingredients to the others listed in this recipe for a full size cake. You can start cutting it back from there, if you want to downsize the recipe. And, I used this recipe to make a tres leches cake - it was perfect (baked the cake in a 13x9 pan and after removing from the oven, I poked holes all over with a cake tester and then poured over a mixture of 1 can coco lopez/cream of coconut mixed with 1 1/4 C fat free half and half). Let it sit in the frig over night and then I sprinkled with toasted coconut and served with slightly sweetened fresh whipped cream. Fabulous! I will say, I made it with shortening first, and now make it with the same amount of canola oil, it's just easier and tastes the same or better. This is simply a very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter and I did not like it. The cake was dry. It was easily broken as you cut it; it crumbled. It tasted like cornbread instead of cake. There was a cake aftertaste however. I was thoroughly embarrassed at the consistency. If it was not for our awesome, moist icing, my guests may not have eaten the cake. I noticed that the individuals before made adjustments to the recipe, and I feel that they may have really been necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States