Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I have found this recipe very useful; I can make a full size cake, but easily make an 8" cake or even make a quarter sized cake without any difficulty (for a small, individual birthday cake). I make this mix up and store it in an air tight container, and then measure out what I need - I mix all the dry ingredients together and then measure 4 1/4 C dry ingredients to the others listed in this recipe for a full size cake. You can start cutting it back from there, if you want to downsize the recipe. And, I used this recipe to make a tres leches cake - it was perfect (baked the cake in a 13x9 pan and after removing from the oven, I poked holes all over with a cake tester and then poured over a mixture of 1 can coco lopez/cream of coconut mixed with 1 1/4 C fat free half and half). Let it sit in the frig over night and then I sprinkled with toasted coconut and served with slightly sweetened fresh whipped cream. Fabulous! I will say, I made it with shortening first, and now make it with the same amount of canola oil, it's just easier and tastes the same or better. This is simply a very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter and I did not like it. The cake was dry. It was easily broken as you cut it; it crumbled. It tasted like cornbread instead of cake. There was a cake aftertaste however. I was thoroughly embarrassed at the consistency. If it was not for our awesome, moist icing, my guests may not have eaten the cake. I noticed that the individuals before made adjustments to the recipe, and I feel that they may have really been necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I've been making the yellow cake variation with oil instead of shortening for months now. This is an excellent recipe that has featured in many birthdays and bakesales. It's easy to dress up and down with different frostings. We like it as a two layer cake with preserves in the middle and cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Not bad, but not what I was hoping for. I used applesauce in place of the shortening (I do the same w/ boxed cake mix) and I used almond extract in place of the vanilla. The flavor was good but I like my cake to be light and fluffy, this turned out more dense and bread like. I was careful not to over mix the flour in, I folded it in w/ the wet ingredients until just mixed. The amount of liquid is about the same as boxed mix but there is only a cup and a half of dry ingredients in the boxed stuff, so next time I make this I will only use 1 1/2 cups of flour and cut back on the sugar a bit... I think the whole 2 1/3 cups of flour resulted in a denser cake and I didn't like it, it didn't taste like cake should taste to me because of the density, even w/ frosting! As is, I wouldn't make again. Ill try it w/ the changes I mentioned though and hopefully it will turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Looks like I'm the odd baker out. While this recipe IS easy and quick, the end result lacks a from-scratch texture and flavor. I followed the recipe for the base cake mix as written the first time and substituted oil for the shortening the second time. Both times the baked cakes looked divine.... but even after brushing with a simple syrup and frosting with a chocolate buttercream, the cakes were just fair. Thanks to Janet, though, for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I made the pineapple upside down version with the yellow cake mix and took it to a family gathering. Everyone loved it and it was still moist two days later (it made a lot!) Thanks for sharing all the basic recipes - I brought English recipes to Canada with me but they don't work without modifications because the flour in Canada is different (coarser or finer, not sure which) so the basics are a great addition to my cookbook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Used these recipes to make cake balls also from this site....totally perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I don't find yellow cake mix where I live, so now I can still make all other recipies that mention it on this site :) The yellow mix I tried turned out quite heavy but I don't know if that is the way it should turn out. But anyhow, thanks again for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Very simple directions to follow. So easy that the kids were able to help. Only thing I did different was I split the batter between to 9inch round pans which altered the cooking time some. And coated it with yummy chocolate buttercream on the yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States