Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
5 stars for ease. 5 stars on time. 4 stars of flexibility and customization. 3 stars on texture. 2 stars on taste. Used oil and 25% more milk for a moist cake. Rose very well. Iced very well. Held up to handling (9" round pan). But the tatse was similar to a store cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
this is my first really bad review...i love to bake and i have baked plenty of cakes found on this site, but this recipe was a complete disaster. I followed suggestions that other people made---used oil instead of shortening, increased milk, and used new baking powder. i even used cake flour and was very careful not to over mix. i will have to agree with one that said it tasted like sugar dough and one who commented on the texture being like cornbread. i'm glad it worked for some people, wish it worked for me....but i definitely won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Followed the advice of increasing the milk to 1 1/2 cups and using oil instead of shortening. It came out very moist. No more box mix, I finally found a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taylerdreier
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I thought this recipe was really great and easy! They kind of tastedlike sugar cookies in my opinion and I loved it, I thought they were really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
didnt like it at all, i tried w/ both oil and shortheing version. tastes like a sugar dough with baking powder. I am quite a good baker, and think will go back to butter sugar creaming method,, normal cake baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Turned out fantastic! Kids loved it and it was super easy to make. I did the white cake version and after reading some reviews, substituted the veg oil. It was my first ever cake from scratch, and I will never use a box again! Soo much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is a very very dence cake! After trying a small peice, I decided to turn it into a jello poke cake with cool whip frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
this is a very dense cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camismommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
THis did NOT go well for me a all i had a teribble time with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom&daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richland Center, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
AWESOME!!!! I made the yellow cake version and used it in a pineapple upsided down cake recipe. I tweaked it a bit as per the other reviewers' suggestions. I used oil instead of shortening, I sifted my flour and I made sure not to "play around" with the flour too much while mixing it in with the eggs , milk etc. Also, because I was using the cake in a pineapple upsided down cake recipe, I used 1 cup of milk and a 1/2 cup of pineapple juice. The result was a delicious moist cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States