Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
It's a super spongy and delish cake. I made the regular yellow following the exact recipe. My boys loved it but to me it tasted too much like muffins. I might modify the original recipe a bit by substituting/modifying a few ingredients to give it a more cake like taste and airy texture as this was a bit dense for me. I'll definitely try the other variations. Other than that, it was easy and yummy. Definitely making it again! No more cake box mixes for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma Crawford
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I wish I would have found this years ago. This is the only cake recipe I need. It is so versatile that others simply aren't needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I used this recipe to make a cake mix for the Yummy Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars recipe on here, so I didn't actually make the cake. However, the mix worked perfectly well in the recipe and tasted great. It was very easy, too, and I'm saving this to my recipe box for when I next need a cake mix but have no mix in the house. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I changed it a bit its super good. I used oil and a cup in a half of milk. I made the pineapple upside down cake came out perfect. I always use crushed pineapple makes it look a bit modern and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany M Flores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Tasted cakelike, but not like traditional Yellow Cake Mix. Cake was disappointingly heavy; no fluff whatsoever! Will try again though using the 1 cup Milk as oppose to 1 1/2 suggestested in reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I just made the pineapple upside down version of this receive except I substituted the cinnamon for cake spice.I also used oil instead of shortening but let me say the cake tasted wonderful it tasted like a spice cake married a pineapple upside cake and the marrying of the two is delicious!!!!! Went over very well at my Xmas part must of gave out at least 50 links to this site along with can pies of my substitutions .I give it a 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie  Urso

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delevan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Super simple and great to play with! I used it as the base for a lemon-poppyseed cake and it turned out divine! Best part is you can sift together the dry ingredients and then store them for later use. It's my own easy, convenient cake mix, without the fear of soy or dairy lurking within the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA
Photo by KupcakesByKiyomi
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe!!! One recipe made 4 dozen mini cupcakes, they tasted amazing!! Everyone loved them! And not to mention they have the perfect amount of density. Not too heavy but heavy enough that people will eat 1 or 2 mini cupcakes and be satisfied!!! Very Very happy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This recipe and all it's variations are delicious and a perfect replacement for those who are tired of cakes from boxes. Try the white cake with candy sprinkles for a confetti cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This cake is gross and a waste of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph RD Clair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States