Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KupcakesByKiyomi
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe!!! One recipe made 4 dozen mini cupcakes, they tasted amazing!! Everyone loved them! And not to mention they have the perfect amount of density. Not too heavy but heavy enough that people will eat 1 or 2 mini cupcakes and be satisfied!!! Very Very happy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This recipe and all it's variations are delicious and a perfect replacement for those who are tired of cakes from boxes. Try the white cake with candy sprinkles for a confetti cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This cake is gross and a waste of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph RD Clair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I made the spice cake variation. I was super easy and delicious!!!! Made a wonderful cake for my husband's birthday. I can't wait to try the other types. A great alternative to the boxed stuff in the store and not too complicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is a lovely cake recipe. Every time I have baked it the results have been delicious--including multiple variations. It is never like boxed cake mixes, thank goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maharet21
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
My cake is cooking currently and it smells and looks amazing. The only problem is that I just realized that I misread the variations for the white cake and instead of using only 3 egg whites I used 3 egg whites and 2 whole eggs! I misread what she wrote. I hope this doesn't mess up my cake lol. I added extra milk an extra half teaspoon of vanilla. And I reduce the sugar to 1 and 1/4 cup. also I used oil instead of shortening. with all these changes I can only give 4 stars. *update*so I tried it today and it tastes exactly like a pound cake was a little bit less sugar so I just sprinkle some powdered sugar on top and it tastes great. Too bad I messed up the recipe I just wanted a plane in white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maharet21

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I have tried both the yellow and the chocolate variations. Both turned out great! This yellow cake has become my go-to need a cake in a pinch recipe and living in a country where hospitality is paramount, that is really saying something! Thanks for the easy to follow recipe featuring simple ingredients which are truly available just about anywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Be sure to either use less flour or more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
First time i made this! Turned out great! Better then store brands and you know whats in it! Used this for better then sex cake cause it called for a yellow cake mix! Yummy! Lilly 11
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Yum - made with 1.5 cups milk. Otherwise just as written for the chocolate variety. Yummy. Not dense, no problems. And best of all simple with standard ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States