Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I followed recommendations and used oil and cake flour. It came out much to dense. The only thing I could think of as to why was maybe stirring it a tad to much. I know better than over stirring so if I did it was not much over. I will try again and be more careful. I was lucky in using cake with strawberry purée and white chocolate cream. It seemed like I purposely made it that way because strawberry short cake is usually dense. I was lucky that's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Good idea in theory, but wasn't impressed. Even after reading other reviews, I decided to try the original yellow cake recipe before making many adjustments, except in cupcake form. I did adjust the cook time slightly to accommodate the smaller size and used oil instead of shortening, based on previous baking experiences. It isn't quite as sweet as I was expecting, but I liked that because I often make very sweet icings. Unfortunately, it was very dense, almost pound cake-like. And it stuck to my cupcake wrappers. They peeled away in tiny pieces! I would expect it to badly stick to pans, even after flouring. I'm not sure I'd make this again, but if I did, I would certainly add more milk, as other reviewers suggested. Also tried the chocolate version, and it was more dense than the yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I made this cake and poured over strawberries, raspberries that had been sauteed in butter and brown sugar. It's kind of like an upside down cake. I usually use a boxed yellow cake but didn't have one. This was much better as it is thicker than boxed and absorbed the fruit and juice without becoming soggy or underdone. The flavor was delicious. I changed nothing in the basic recipe. Excellent texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I made an almond version of this cake using 2 teaspoons of almond extract. I made 2 changes to the recipe and it was a hit. 1) Use 2 cups of sugar. 2) Use 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
It's a super spongy and delish cake. I made the regular yellow following the exact recipe. My boys loved it but to me it tasted too much like muffins. I might modify the original recipe a bit by substituting/modifying a few ingredients to give it a more cake like taste and airy texture as this was a bit dense for me. I'll definitely try the other variations. Other than that, it was easy and yummy. Definitely making it again! No more cake box mixes for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma Crawford
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I wish I would have found this years ago. This is the only cake recipe I need. It is so versatile that others simply aren't needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I used this recipe to make a cake mix for the Yummy Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars recipe on here, so I didn't actually make the cake. However, the mix worked perfectly well in the recipe and tasted great. It was very easy, too, and I'm saving this to my recipe box for when I next need a cake mix but have no mix in the house. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I changed it a bit its super good. I used oil and a cup in a half of milk. I made the pineapple upside down cake came out perfect. I always use crushed pineapple makes it look a bit modern and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany M Flores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Tasted cakelike, but not like traditional Yellow Cake Mix. Cake was disappointingly heavy; no fluff whatsoever! Will try again though using the 1 cup Milk as oppose to 1 1/2 suggestested in reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I just made the pineapple upside down version of this receive except I substituted the cinnamon for cake spice.I also used oil instead of shortening but let me say the cake tasted wonderful it tasted like a spice cake married a pineapple upside cake and the marrying of the two is delicious!!!!! Went over very well at my Xmas part must of gave out at least 50 links to this site along with can pies of my substitutions .I give it a 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie  Urso

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delevan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States