Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I changed it a bit its super good. I used oil and a cup in a half of milk. I made the pineapple upside down cake came out perfect. I always use crushed pineapple makes it look a bit modern and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany M Flores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Tasted cakelike, but not like traditional Yellow Cake Mix. Cake was disappointingly heavy; no fluff whatsoever! Will try again though using the 1 cup Milk as oppose to 1 1/2 suggestested in reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I just made the pineapple upside down version of this receive except I substituted the cinnamon for cake spice.I also used oil instead of shortening but let me say the cake tasted wonderful it tasted like a spice cake married a pineapple upside cake and the marrying of the two is delicious!!!!! Went over very well at my Xmas part must of gave out at least 50 links to this site along with can pies of my substitutions .I give it a 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie  Urso

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delevan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Super simple and great to play with! I used it as the base for a lemon-poppyseed cake and it turned out divine! Best part is you can sift together the dry ingredients and then store them for later use. It's my own easy, convenient cake mix, without the fear of soy or dairy lurking within the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA
Photo by KupcakesByKiyomi
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe!!! One recipe made 4 dozen mini cupcakes, they tasted amazing!! Everyone loved them! And not to mention they have the perfect amount of density. Not too heavy but heavy enough that people will eat 1 or 2 mini cupcakes and be satisfied!!! Very Very happy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This recipe and all it's variations are delicious and a perfect replacement for those who are tired of cakes from boxes. Try the white cake with candy sprinkles for a confetti cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This cake is gross and a waste of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph RD Clair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I made the spice cake variation. I was super easy and delicious!!!! Made a wonderful cake for my husband's birthday. I can't wait to try the other types. A great alternative to the boxed stuff in the store and not too complicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is a lovely cake recipe. Every time I have baked it the results have been delicious--including multiple variations. It is never like boxed cake mixes, thank goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Tresham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maharet21
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
My cake is cooking currently and it smells and looks amazing. The only problem is that I just realized that I misread the variations for the white cake and instead of using only 3 egg whites I used 3 egg whites and 2 whole eggs! I misread what she wrote. I hope this doesn't mess up my cake lol. I added extra milk an extra half teaspoon of vanilla. And I reduce the sugar to 1 and 1/4 cup. also I used oil instead of shortening. with all these changes I can only give 4 stars. *update*so I tried it today and it tastes exactly like a pound cake was a little bit less sugar so I just sprinkle some powdered sugar on top and it tastes great. Too bad I messed up the recipe I just wanted a plane in white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maharet21

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States