Cake Mix Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This recipe gets 5 stars from me because it's easy. Turns out each time no matter what I do with it. I've braided it, made sub sandwiches out of it and rolls. It turns out pretty and most importantly it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I really like these. I use pillsburry yellow cake mix and used 1 1/4c and these turn out really good. They are slightly sweet, fluffy and delicious. I love these--they are quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Wow, this is a delicious yeast roll. I am new to using yeast, so rather than stirring and letting it rise, I threw all the ingredients in to the bread machine on the manual cycle. Once it was done, I worked in another 1/2 cup of flour to get the dough to roll out in the circle. I used a 9 oz. Jiffy (R) cake mix in this recipe. I did not brush with the egg white or use the poppy seeds. Just formed in crescent shape and baked. Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Super Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Made these and let my Kitchen Aid mixer do all the work. This dough is so wonderful to work with. I did add 3/4 cup of all-purpose flour because the dough was too sticky. For me, it took the dough about 1 1/2 hours to double in size. I did not brush with egg whites or sprinkle with poppy seeds only with butter when I removed them from the oven. There are two things I will do differently next time: First, I will add salt to the dough during the mixing process and secondly, I will divide the dough into thirds because by only dividing in half, the rolls are much bigger than I prefer. Thanks for sharing this easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
These are WONDERFUL! I mixed mine in the bread machine on the dough setting (because I'm lazy, lol). My only issue was that I had to add more flour than called for (maybe 1/2 to 3/4 cup extra). the dough was so fluffy and a real joy to work with. I cut each circle into 12 wedges, so I got 24 rolls out of this recipe. I didn't brush them w/ anything before baking, but as soon as they came out of the oven, I brushed 1/2 of them w/ melted butter and sprinkled some w/ poppy seeds. The other 1/2, I allowed to cool and froze them for another time. I couldn't wait until dinner to try these, so I did....they are light, fluffy and delicious w/ great flavor...not too sweet, just right! To those that had issue, it seems to be that the size cake mix was off...I used a 9oz. box of Jiffy yellow cake mix...PERFECT! These will def be made again and again...they couldn't be simplier~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My sister recommended this to me. I didn't do the egg whites or poppy seeds because I'm boring, but I LOVED them. I made them for Thanksgiving and couldn't stop eating them. I ate leftovers for breakfast the next day too. Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I love this recipe. I do a little catering on the side and made these for a few events, always to rave reviews. I'm getting married in a few weeks and am looking forward to using this recipe again for the reception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Well I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by these. I only made them because I was low on flour. I had a problem because I while proofing the yeast I started finding the rest of my ingredients and low and behold it wasn't a yellow cake mix I had, it was a golden vanilla. Well I used it anyway and they turned out great. The only problem I had was I thought I could serve the left over rolls for out next dinner, but no such luck they were gone by lunch. I have to experiment with other cake mixes now. Thanks Ruthey for an excellent and different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
So normally I like to cook from scratch...I saw the word "cake mix" and was turned off but then I read a few reviews and said why not. I made these rolls and I loved them as did my Husband! I did change a couple of things .. 1. I used a bread maker 2. I used 2 packs of yeast and 3. I used Butter and ommited the poppy seeds. YUMMMY STILL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbriscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States