Cake Mix Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I'm giving this recipe five stars for now. I just wanted to put up a review that included this warning : Check your box of cake mix! The recipe calls for a 9 oz. box, when the standard cake mix box is twice that. I made these rolls last night and they were definately not dinner rolls. They are way too sweet and cakey. I used the whole box. I was prepared to leave a scathing review, but realized I messed it up. I will try this recipe again and leave a new review. BE AWARE OF THE CAKE MIX AMOUNTS! These are great sweet rolls to have with coffee though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Just made this in my bread machine using the "dough only" cycle. I used yeast, water, cake mix and bread flour. I omitted poppy seeds, egg and margarine steps. After the dough cycle was done I cut dough into 24 peices and let rise on cookie sheet and baked at 350 till light brown. YUMMY! Light and Fluffy! The cake mix did the trick! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
FOREVER I have been looking for a sweet dinner roll recipe that I would be proud to make for guests. This is so delicious. I have made them twice for parties and I am constantly asked for the recipe. Thank you for making me a big hit! This are so good, they just melt in your mouth! A HUGE WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
If I had not made them, I would not have believed how good this were and I believe in making breads from scratch! Sweet but not too sweet for dinner. Don't let the dough get too stiff - keep it slightly sticky. I just made regular rolls - no rolling into crescents. Did great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticadmin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Read through all of the reviews prior to making the rolls and made sure to use 1/2 of a regular sized box of cake mix. Used bread flour instead of all purpose flour and doubled the yeast used. Family and friends over for dinner loved them. Will make again. Saved other half of the cake mix and made another batch the next weekend. In future might just go ahead and mix the second half with the flour and bag for ease in making another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggieSuzel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
this recipe saved me! Had intended to do overnight rolls and forgot to make the dough last night. Had a box of "Jiffy" brand yellow mix in the cupboard intending to make a cinnamon roll recipe so that worked perfectly since it is 9 oz exactly. No where in the recipe did it say to knead the dough. I did knead the dough until it had the sheen. This is a sticky dough but I just kept flouring my board. I let it rise in a warmed oven for 1 hour and rose nicely double in bulk. The dough will appear too sticky to be able to roll into anything but I just floured my board and rolling pin and this dough was actually beautiful to work with. Used the pizza cutter to slice into sections and it did not stick to the board at all. Cut each round into 12 sections and used real butter instead of margarine. They are a sweeter roll but not sickening. They baked up like a picture. did some poppy seed, sesame seed, and left some plain. buttery good. Really no need to use butter. The only thing I would suggest is a bit of salt added to the second cup of flour when making the dough. Salt added directly to yeast mixture can kill the yeast. Thanks for this nice recipe with a surprisingly lovely dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Tried these twice and they failed miserably both times although I am a very experienced baker. They didn't rise and were much too sweet. (Looking back at this and more recent reviews, I realize that I mistakenly used a LARGE box of cake mix. Thank you to another reviewer for pointing that out! The original submitter needed to be more explicit in specifying that a substandard size of mix was being used. I'll bet lots of us were fooled by not reading carefully. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Not a stellar recipe, especially if you use a cake mix like Duncan Hines yellow cake mix, which has a high vanilla/coconutish flavor. If using this brand mix, I strongly recommend that you halve the cake mix and add additional "bread" flour as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUEWANA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Much too sweet for a roll..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by das0421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
My family enjoyed these rolls for dinner. They were sweet, but not overbearing. They were also dense, but I personally enjoy hearty breads. I did let them rise about 1 1/2 hours for the first rising and 1 hour for the second. I baked them about 5 minutes longer than the recipe called for. I used bread flour instead of all-purpose flour, which may have contributed to the more successful outcome I achieved versus other commenters. I also shaped them as buns, rather than crescents, and tucked them into a round cake pan. I might try adding a second package of yeast next time...and there will be a next time. Edited to add: I figured out my problem with the longer rising time... the recipe calls for 9 oz cake mix, all the reguarl ones at the store are 18 oz. I made this again using only 1/2 the box and there was no problem. RDI! These are now the official holiday rolls at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States