Cake Mix Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
FOREVER I have been looking for a sweet dinner roll recipe that I would be proud to make for guests. This is so delicious. I have made them twice for parties and I am constantly asked for the recipe. Thank you for making me a big hit! This are so good, they just melt in your mouth! A HUGE WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Just made this in my bread machine using the "dough only" cycle. I used yeast, water, cake mix and bread flour. I omitted poppy seeds, egg and margarine steps. After the dough cycle was done I cut dough into 24 peices and let rise on cookie sheet and baked at 350 till light brown. YUMMY! Light and Fluffy! The cake mix did the trick! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
If I had not made them, I would not have believed how good this were and I believe in making breads from scratch! Sweet but not too sweet for dinner. Don't let the dough get too stiff - keep it slightly sticky. I just made regular rolls - no rolling into crescents. Did great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticadmin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Much too sweet for a roll..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by das0421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Not a stellar recipe, especially if you use a cake mix like Duncan Hines yellow cake mix, which has a high vanilla/coconutish flavor. If using this brand mix, I strongly recommend that you halve the cake mix and add additional "bread" flour as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUEWANA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Tried these twice and they failed miserably both times although I am a very experienced baker. They didn't rise and were much too sweet. (Looking back at this and more recent reviews, I realize that I mistakenly used a LARGE box of cake mix. Thank you to another reviewer for pointing that out! The original submitter needed to be more explicit in specifying that a substandard size of mix was being used. I'll bet lots of us were fooled by not reading carefully. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
My family enjoyed these rolls for dinner. They were sweet, but not overbearing. They were also dense, but I personally enjoy hearty breads. I did let them rise about 1 1/2 hours for the first rising and 1 hour for the second. I baked them about 5 minutes longer than the recipe called for. I used bread flour instead of all-purpose flour, which may have contributed to the more successful outcome I achieved versus other commenters. I also shaped them as buns, rather than crescents, and tucked them into a round cake pan. I might try adding a second package of yeast next time...and there will be a next time. Edited to add: I figured out my problem with the longer rising time... the recipe calls for 9 oz cake mix, all the reguarl ones at the store are 18 oz. I made this again using only 1/2 the box and there was no problem. RDI! These are now the official holiday rolls at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Great for a family! These are truly moist and soft. I make them for the teachers at my school and they dissapear as soon as they hit the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This reminded me of mexican sweet bread it was good very easy. I wish I would have added a little more yeast. It didn't rise as much as I thought it would. I made it as regular rolls next time I will follow the recipe. It was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This is a keeper. The rolls came out soft, a little cake mix taste, but not too much. My kids just love it and it was so easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States