Cake Mix Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
My wife tried this recipe and it was a BIG FLOP!!!! She followed the recipe closely and we did not care for the !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerald Alford Sr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Read through all of the reviews prior to making the rolls and made sure to use 1/2 of a regular sized box of cake mix. Used bread flour instead of all purpose flour and doubled the yeast used. Family and friends over for dinner loved them. Will make again. Saved other half of the cake mix and made another batch the next weekend. In future might just go ahead and mix the second half with the flour and bag for ease in making another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggieSuzel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and my family found the rolls adequate. Nothing to rave about. I let them rise a bit before putting them in the oven and they looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Absolutely fabulous! I put the ingredients in my bread machine on the dough cycle. When it is finished, I just roll them up and bake them. I do use bread flour, which makes a more tender roll. My friends all want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I'm giving this recipe five stars for now. I just wanted to put up a review that included this warning : Check your box of cake mix! The recipe calls for a 9 oz. box, when the standard cake mix box is twice that. I made these rolls last night and they were definately not dinner rolls. They are way too sweet and cakey. I used the whole box. I was prepared to leave a scathing review, but realized I messed it up. I will try this recipe again and leave a new review. BE AWARE OF THE CAKE MIX AMOUNTS! These are great sweet rolls to have with coffee though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
this recipe saved me! Had intended to do overnight rolls and forgot to make the dough last night. Had a box of "Jiffy" brand yellow mix in the cupboard intending to make a cinnamon roll recipe so that worked perfectly since it is 9 oz exactly. No where in the recipe did it say to knead the dough. I did knead the dough until it had the sheen. This is a sticky dough but I just kept flouring my board. I let it rise in a warmed oven for 1 hour and rose nicely double in bulk. The dough will appear too sticky to be able to roll into anything but I just floured my board and rolling pin and this dough was actually beautiful to work with. Used the pizza cutter to slice into sections and it did not stick to the board at all. Cut each round into 12 sections and used real butter instead of margarine. They are a sweeter roll but not sickening. They baked up like a picture. did some poppy seed, sesame seed, and left some plain. buttery good. Really no need to use butter. The only thing I would suggest is a bit of salt added to the second cup of flour when making the dough. Salt added directly to yeast mixture can kill the yeast. Thanks for this nice recipe with a surprisingly lovely dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
We love these rolls! I used two packages of yeast instead of one,I used Sesame Seeds instead of Poppy, and cut each circle into 12 instead of 10. I froze one batch all rolled up and ready to rise and bake for our company on Thanksgiving! We will definately be serving these rolls alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This is a keeper. The rolls came out soft, a little cake mix taste, but not too much. My kids just love it and it was so easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This reminded me of mexican sweet bread it was good very easy. I wish I would have added a little more yeast. It didn't rise as much as I thought it would. I made it as regular rolls next time I will follow the recipe. It was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States