Cake Mix Cookies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I took the repeated suggestions of other reviewers and added 2 T. of vegetable oil and 1 tsp. vanilla. For more intense "chocolatiness" I also added 1 tsp. of chocolate extract. I don't know if these additions and changes were necessary, but I do know this was one fantastic cookie! Everything was just perfect--it's an attractive cookie, perfectly shaped (I used a small ice cream scoop), kind of almost pebbly on the top. The texture was also perfect-- a little crackly, chewey on the outside, and melt-in-your mouth soft on the inside. Instead of chocolate chips I used chopped Andes mints, and the taste combination was out of this world, with no hint of cake mix taste. The flavor variations with this recipe are, of course, endless, but I enjoyed this combination so much I don't know that I'll bother trying it any other way. I do know, however, that I won't be making this with a yellow cake mix as the cake mix taste is hard to cover up. I also know this is only the first of many times I will come back to this easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
675 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Oh man, this is the BEST basic cake-mix cookie recipe. I love strawberry cake, so that was the mix I used and added 1 cup white chips and 1 cup pecans and it made the most yummy cookies. I used a 2 tsp. scoop and made 44 2-inch cookies. I've noticed with this and other cake mix cookie recipies that the cookies do not spread while baking, so unless you want puffy round drops, you need to flatten the cookies out a bit before you put them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
419 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
WOW WOW WOW! I've been a baker all my life and wanted to find an easy cookie recipe to make with my 4 yr. daughter and this one takes the cake. I've tried 3 other cake mix cookies from this site, and this is by far #1. You can use any kind of cake mix, I like Butter Yellow because is gives a nice buttery taste and I took another reviewer's advice and added 2 tablespoon oil. This keeps the cookie SUPER moist. Definitely an 8 min. cookie if you want moist & chewy and stays this way for days--if it last that long in your house. Great to make with kids, many variations possible and good for giving or when you're in a pinch. Look no further for the 'short-cut' cookie recipe!! I love these! (and so does my waistline)- Aahh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
My grandma taught me how to make theses when I was little. You can use any flavor cake mix along with 2 eggs and 1/2 cup oil instead of butter. You practically can't mess these up! I love to use butter pecan cake mixes or red velvet with cream cheese frosting! My husband likes a spice cake mix with a packet instant oatmeal, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 cup riasins. They seem to stay soft even without being sealed extra tight. My best advice, don't overbake them and you'll never go wrong. A great thing to experiment with, get the kid's involved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Salo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York Mills, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
If you don't want the cookies to be "cakey" then only add one egg or add just the yolk of the second egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
This recipe is easy and delicious. I also gave it five stars. I made two batches the first batch I added 1T. of oil and a 1t. vanilla. They turned out, but they were a little airy and not really smooth. The second batch I did as lesleysalyer recommended - I added 2T. of oil and 1t. of vanilla. They were delicious and beautiful! Thanks Lesley for the recommendation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Mmmm...talk about soft cookies! I followed what other reviewers were saying they did and used 2tsp. Vegetable oil and 1tsp. vanilla. They were super easy to make and came out perfect! The only cake mix we had on hand was the Pillsbury devil's food cake mix and they turned out great. I brought them to a family BBQ where they were given rave reviews! If you're short on time then these are the cookies for you. I gave it 4 stars for the quickness it takes to make them and great taste! I would definitely make these again if I was running short on time and needed cookies fast. Thanks a lot for the recipe Kristi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Not Good! I used a duncan hines dark chocolate fudge cake, 1 tablespoon of canola oil, instead of 1 cup semi-sweet chips only used 1/2 cup. Replaced 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chips with peanut butter chips. 1st tray 3" cookies baked 10 minutes...very flat and bottom over done, 2nd tray 2" cookie-pressed top down slightly - baked 8 minutes--very flat and overdone on the bottom. 3rd tray--2" cookie, baked 8 minutes - centers raw (all three trays were baked on a SILPAT and dark cookie sheet, as well as oven thermometer reading 350 degrees. 4th sheet - 2" cookie, baked 8 minutes using parchment paper...not much difference than the other 3 attempts. Not a good chocolate flavor or even a good looking cookie Good thing the cake mix only cost .88 cents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
i give this five stars because they were incredibly easy to make and really good. i had my doubts when i was mixing them, they seemed really dry, but i added 2 tsp. of oil and 1 tsp. of vanilla and they were really yummy. i used some kind of triple fudge cake mix with chocolate chips already in it - delicious but a bit too rich. would try a plain chocolate or devil's food cake next time. maybe some heath bites...thanks kristi for a super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
This cookie is delicious! I found that they made 40 cookies rather than 24 cookies for me, which also lowered the calories to about 100 calories each which was a nice bonus. These cookies *are* light and kind of airy which I really like about them. They are also chewy and delicious! A lot like a chocolate brownie. Great recipe and sooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States