Cake Mix Cookies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I make this recipe all the time with different cake mix flavors. Instead of using butter, I use 1/3 cup of canola oil. I bake for 6 minutes then start checking (You don't want these to overcook.) Mine are usually ready at 8 minutes. Let them cool on the cookie sheet ( I use a silpat) -they will continue to cook a little bit this way. Combo's that work for me: Yellow cake w/choc. chips, chocolate cake w/walnuts or white choc chips, cherry chip cake is a winner with no additions, or funfetti with no additions. Try a spice cake with raisins and instant oats for an oatmeal raisin cookie. Everyone who tries these loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
5 starts because it is so easy! And so delicious! It does have a little of that cake mix after taste but the ease of baking more than makes up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I also added about a tablespoon of canola oil and about a teaspoon of vanilla. I used the medium sized scoop from PC, and baked these whoppers for twenty minutes. BIG HIT! I used a red velvet cake mix and put cream cheese frosting on the cooled cookies. YUM! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Alexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
VERY PEDESTRIAN COOKIE. I knew this going in but I was looking for something easy and fast that tasted pretty good. I never expected to knock this out of the park but I wasn't expecting a flop either. This was a flop. I took the advice of another reviewer and added 2 tablespoons oil and some vanilla. I didn't have chocolate extract on hand and I wish I had -- these needed it despite using a Duncin Heinz rich chocolate fudge cake mix. I make my cakes from scratch now so I can barely tolerate the mix stuff anymore and this is why -- they lack flavor. I knew better and am kicking myself for even trying it. I also added almost a full box of Andes mints like the first reviewer did but they need at least two boxes. I think the chocolate chips would have been better because they might have improved slightly on the chocolate flavor this so desperately lacks. My oven is powerful and I should not have baked these at 350. They flattened out and got crispy that way and I used two eggs and some oil plus buter so that should NOT have happened. The second batch I baked at 330 and had to take them out half raw to avoid them getting crispy on me. Don't waste your time with this when there are so many other good cookie recipes out there. What was I thinking?!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Not a perfect cookie, but I thought it was pretty great in a pinch. I followed other advice and added about 1.5 T of canola oil and 1t of vanilla. I also only had jumbo eggs, so I added one whole egg and an extra yolk. I used a 1.5T scoop and these spread to about 3" round without being flattened at all, but I had to cook, rotating once in the oven for 14 min to cook fully. I used "Betty C" triple chocolate mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I was asked to bring some cookies to a friend last minute so when i seen this recipe i figured it was easy enough! They turned out Delicious! I did add a dash of vanilla extract and added some crushed oreos and mini marshmallows Amazing!! Very chocolaty and chewy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
These were surprisingly good! I love to bake and I pride myself on making everything from scratch, but I had a box of cake mix lying around from a gift so I thought I'd give this a try. I used shortening instead of butter to keep them from flattening out. I also added the 2Tbsp of oil and 1tsp vanilla like everyone suggested. Fudgy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Fan-Freakin-Tastic! I followed other's advice...1/2 c oil, 1 egg, cake mix, 2 tbsp water, 1 cup of mint choc chips into Betty Crocker Triple Choc Fudge cake mix. Baked at 350 for 9 minutes. The cookies turned out thick and chunky looking with the right amount of crunch on the outside and little bit soft on the inside. I don't care for chewy cookies so these were perfect. One of the cookies didn't get any mint chips and I tasted it "plain"...the taste was a little dull as other's have reviewed. These cookies are best with something incorporated into the batter...nuts, pb chips...something. This is how I will make cookies from now on. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Fantastic. They were THE first to go on a tray of 200 cookies. They were soft and chocolatey and stayed soft for days. Great "go to" cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Absolutely AMAZING!!!! I will be using this recipe regularlly when making double chocolate chip cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States