Cake Mix Cookies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I used a devil's food cake mix and chopped up candy cane kisses for the chips, I did have to add a few tbsps of milk as it was too dry, 1 tbsp scoop made 37 cookies, 10 minutes was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Family loved these cookies. Used milk chocolate cake mix and semi sweet chips. Can't wait to try chocolate fudge cake mix, semi sweet chips and pecans next time. I think one of the tricks is to soften the butter, but not melt it. I used a hand mixer, baked for 10 minutes (8 wasn't enough in my oven--made them too gooey in the middle) and let them cool completely before removing from the pan. They didn't spread much, but because of the thickness, they were very soft in the middle. Even with the mixer, these did not turn out "fluffy" (thank goodness since I don't like fluffy cookies) They were fudgy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
i did these w/chocolate fudge cake mix,added walnuts,chocolate chips and butterscotch chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Washington, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I needed cookies for a church BBQ and so I doubled the recipe and used 1 box of strawberry and 1 box of white cake mix. I used white chocolate chips and some mini dark chocolate chips. I just had one warm out of the oven and it was great! I didn't add any oil or vanilla like some of the reviews recommended but I think they turned out amazing! Only thing is that I'll make them smaller next time, they spread out on my baking sheets a lot. Thank you for this, I'll probably make them more often than I should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
The cookies spread out and flattened a lot, and the flavor was just so-so. Really need more cocoa or something to give them flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I thought these were great. Very easy to make. I may have done somthing not right though. They were a little gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casey_a_g
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
A great, simple and tasty recipe! I didn't change a thing. The cookies are oh, so chocolaty and puffy enough but not cake-like at all. I look forward to changing out the chocolate chips with peanut butter chips! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I use a lemon cake mix. They are FABULOUS!! My daughter and her friends beg for them. Even people who don't like lemon want the recipe. Obviously leave out the choco chips. Serve plain, sprinkled with confectioners sugar, or drizzled with a glaze. Any way they are GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
The possibilities are ENDLESS with this recipe. I've made these cookies five times in the last two weeks and, so far, my favorite is butter pecan cake mix with white chocolate chips and walnuts. The kids like them with chocolate cake mix and either semisweet or white chocolate chips. I plan to keep making these with different combinations. In every batch I've added two tablespoons of vegetable oil and one teaspoon of vanilla. Also, my cookies take between nine and ten minutes to bake. Great recipe; definitely a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocrosby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
easy, easy , easy. followed the recipe, turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States