Cake Mix Cookies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
YUM! Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Quick yummy goodness. I used 1/2 c. oil instead of butter and 1 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
These cookies are amazing! My son picked lemon cake mix with white chocolate chips and we grated some lemon zest in the dough and he won a blue ribbon at the fair. Not to mention appreciation of my co-workers when I took some to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff and Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I have made these cookies often, and I change it every time. I sometimes add a teaspoon of espresso powder and use white chips instead of semisweet. These are really yummy. I have also tried red velvet cake mix with white chocolate chips. Very Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
made mine as a traditional chocolate chip cookie with a white cake mix and semi sweet chocolate chips. I have to say they were definitely fast and easy though mine still tasted a bit like cake mix which disappointed me some. Used the store brand boxed mix so that could be the issue. Would love to try these with chocolate cake mix next time and white chocolate chips. Made mine with smart balance and egg beaters so they were slightly less fat grams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Great concept! Hubby and kids loved them. Used a yellow cake mix, added the oil and vanilla as recommended by other reviewers and threw in two snickers bars and a handful of chocolate chips. Yum-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amrenee
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
If I could give this 6 stars, I would! These turned out so well. Fresh out of the oven, I already ate 3 cookies because they were that good! Like other reviewers, I added canola oil and vanilla. I added oil just because they still seemed too dry as a stirred the dough. I let my cookies rest on the sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool. They turned out exactly how I like them: spread out, gooey, and slightly crispy not cakey and puffy. I WILL be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
4 stars for the few ingredients and quick prep time. They tasted good for a quick substitute. I did as others suggested and added an additional 2 tbsp oil and 1 tsp vanilla extract. I used BC triple Choc cake mix, 1/2 C Choc chips and 1/3 C + 4 tbsp chopped maraschino cherries. Next time i'll do devils food. The triple Choc was way too much. And this coming from a pregnant person craving Choc. I baked on parchment paper. I varied the batter size scoops. Using ~1+1/2 tbsp of batter and placing in mounds size of 50 cent pieces they took 11-12 mins @ 350. 2 tsp size scoops plopped in mounds took 9 mins@ 350'F. They do flatten and spread out. I let them cool completely, for 5 mins, and removed immediately off parchment w/ no issues. BUT do not stack them. They will stick together b/c they are a mix between cookie and cake like. So separate w/ foil or parchment when stacking. The size of your cookie (or any food for that matter) will alter baking/cooking time. Smaller= shorter and bigger vol=longer. Also, if using convection in the oven, the fan circulates the hot air, so the temp needs to be dropped around 325'F possibly. I worked in a bakery for 8 yrs and they use convection. Since the cookies were super chocolatey I made some into ice cream sandwiches w/ vanilla ice cream and some I used a light cherry flavored frosting. Since it's so hot the ice cream one's were much more appealing. Thanks for sharing a good/quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayceeP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I made these exactly to the recipe, but decreased size and got about 48 cookies. They were absolutely incredible and I love a one-bowl recipe! They were a huge hit with my family - perfectly chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Schmitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States