Cake Mix Cookies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
It doesn't get easier or better then this! This one is going into the recipe box for a quick recipe for when I get a chocolate craving! And since cake mix often goes on sale for a $1 I can stock up next time and get creative with flavor combos. This time I used Dunkin Hines chocolate cake mix and added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp of instant coffee. After they cooled (too soft to eat out of oven) I liked zapping in the microwave for 10sec to get that out of oven goodness effect. I also tried them with Nutella spead on top....OMG addicting! Maybe its better you don't try it cause you'll be hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I thought they they tasted good, but you need to spray the pan with something or use metal pans, not stones, they want to stick to the pan. Also you should not store them in an airtight container, or stack them on each other because they are so moist that they will stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krysta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
My kid's LOVED it!! And are always asking for more! you can also replace the choc. cake mix with red velvet or vanilla. works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingerly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Everybody LOVED these! I added the tsp of vanilla & 2 tbsp of veg oil as suggested by many reviewers. Used golden cake mix & choc chips. Will try different combo next time. Seems the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
FINALLY, a chocolate cake-mix cookie recipe that works!!! For many years I've been making the recipes that call for 1/2 cup oil, instead of butter, and they always end up flat and crispy. These turned out soft and fluffy. The only thing I changed was that I used 1/2 cup semi-sweet and 1/2 cup white chocolate chips. I'll definitely be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Wonderful! A perfect afternoon snack for hungry kids home from school. Used the oil and vanilla as suggested they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great cookie.. made exactly like directions above with Devil's Food but had to bake for 14 min. 2nd batch made with 2T oil and 1t vanilla to French Vanilla cake mix and turned out just as awesome. Both ways are fine with me and boys in my house loved them. Next time will make different flavor variations. This one is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Ragle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
So many reviewers said to add 2 tablespoons of oil plus a teaspoon of vanilla extract, so that was what I did. I like to bake most of my desserts from scratch so I felt a bit like I was cheating by using a boxed cake mix... but the cookies turned out SO GOOD -- soft and chewy! I've tried many good from-scratch cookie recipes but they're never this soft and chewy. I know many friends are going to ask for the recipe once they try these cookies and I'm going to have to sheepishly say it's actually a boxed cake mix! Anyway, I was able to get 25 3-inch cookies and they spread to just the right thickness on their own -- I didn't have to flatten them a bit before baking like some reviewers had to. I added walnuts along w/ milk chocolate chips and they were picture-perfect. I baked at 350 F for 10 minutes and at first, they looked as if they might be a little under-baked or too gooey, but after they cooled completely, they were perfect. Put them in an airtight container and they were still super soft and chewy the next morning (didn't harden up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mpudd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe goes to eleven! I made this simply to use some leftover ingredients. The result was the most soft and beautiful cookies I think I have ever made. I melted the butter completely, and the cookies turned out with the perfect shiny crackly surface that I thought I would never achieve. The combinations are endless, the recipe comes together in a snap, and the results make you look like a fabulous cook. You can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Sooooooooo, I needed something quick and tasty for my son's potluck tomorrow for teacher appreciation week (the teachers get to have their own lunch getaway while the students do a potluck). Anyway, I figured I had cake mix and all the other few ingredients needed to give this a try and I did! BOY AM I GLAD I DID!!! Simple, no fail, tried and true recipe here! I followed the directions to a "T", but I added white chocolate chips to my fugde mix and they are moist and delicious! Why haven't I done this before?? Give it a go, you won't be sorry! (My next batch is about to be done in 5, 4, 3, 2, (ding)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States