Cake Mix Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
It Must say "Pudding in the mix" or "Supermoist" It really makes the difference with the out come.I used Duncan Heines Supermoist Yellow Cake Mix and It came out Excellent!!!!Will deffinately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
MMM MMM GOOD! STRATEGY: Use a rubber spatula to stir the ingredients. Then, using the spatula, cut into the dough and form into small-medium balls. VARIATIONS: Pillsbury Moist Supreme Strawberry cake mix plus a tablespoon of berry jam. -SO TASTY!!! I made them for a party and they were loved by all (a younger favorite). Betty Crocker's Carrot Cake mix plus one cup of rolled oats... EVEN BETTER!!! It makes a ginger cookie look-alike that has a lovely spice taste and is very very good (an older favorite). Next time I will also add raisins for a sweet touch. I baked the cookies 12-14 minutes and made 44 medium, perfectly round cookies (for BOTH variations)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
The only area where I would rate this recipe high is in the quickness of preparation. Other than that, nothing remarkable. The batter comes out immensely greasy and the vanilla flavoring of the cake mix is rather overpowering. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I've been making these for years to rave reviews but have never tried adding baking powder. This worked well! I found that 1/3 cup oil as suggested by others, wasn't enough to stir the dough. I used chocolate cake mix (ALWAYS Duncan Hines) and added chocolate chips. I split the dough, added nuts to half and sprinkled those with nuts with powdered sugar after baking, so people could tell the difference. All were yummy. This is a great last minute recipe and people never guess it's made of cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
These are the best easy cookies you'll ever make! Keep some cake mixes and mix-ins on hand and you'll always be prepared. They take no time to make and bake. It's also fun to try different combinations. We liked spice cake mix and raisins the best...they taste like the best oatmeal-raisin cookies you've ever had, minus the grittiness of the oatmeal. We also like golden cake mix with cinnamon chips. Chocolate cake mix with coconut wasn't that great - it would probably be better if the coconut was sprinkled on top (we mixed it in). For the kids, I've used vanilla mix with m&ms and they loved it! You really don't need too much of the mix-ins...if you put in too much, the dough breaks apart a little. Try these...you'll love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
Great cookies! I used duncan hines devils food cake mix and added milk choc. chips and walnuts. They were so moist and good. I can't wait to try them with peanut butter chips. As far as the ingredients go , I feel they are perfectly accurate. Especially if you use duncan hines brand. I do not know how the yellow cake mix will turn out, but I'm not worried. Although these cookies are a close second to my favorite choc. peanut butter cup cookies on this site, I will probably make these more because they're faster, easier and just as good. But we all know there's nothing like the goodness baking from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N.NERO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
OHHHHH absolutely the best recipe ever. I used spice cake mix with cinimmon chips - yummm tasted like soft gingerbread, also did devils food with butterscotch chips - those went very fast. This will be a staple in my house forever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
A quick and wonderful recipe for those who need options in their dessert. My husband is allergic to chocolate and sugar cookies get old. I halfed the batter put chocolate chips in one half for my kids and put oatmeal, walnuts and cinnamon in the other half for my husband. Turned out great. My only modification was a tablespoon of water to the oat mixture to help with the stiffness. A winner in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
After reading all the rave reviews, I was excited to try these cookies. They were very easy to make, and my kids enjoyed making them with me, but they just didn't taste all that great. They tasted more like packaged cake mix than does a cake made from packaged cake mix! I won't make these again -- I prefer Toll House, or the Award Winning Chocolate Chip Cookies on this site that use the pudding mix. Now those are some COOKIES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Very moist, chewy, soft cookie and stays fresh for days in an airtight container. Use 1/2 cup butter (1 stick) in place of the oil for a richer, more homemade taste. I'ave also made Cranberry White Chocolate Oatmeal cookies using this as the base. (1 cup each of cranberry, white chocolate and 2/3 cups rolled oats)But for choclate chip cookies, I always add 1 cup chopped walnuts for more flavor/texture and always get great reviews no matter what combo I use. Great to make with kids since there's not too many ingredients. Also try Devil's Food cake mix & walnuts- it's sublime. Definitely an 8 MINUTE cookie if you want it moist & chewy. It will look a little underdone coming out, but will set wonderfully. Awesome, quick cookie and if you don't tell, people can't tell it's not from scratch. (Just a review from a life-time baker - hey, sometimes we cheat too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States