Cake Mix Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
It Must say "Pudding in the mix" or "Supermoist" It really makes the difference with the out come.I used Duncan Heines Supermoist Yellow Cake Mix and It came out Excellent!!!!Will deffinately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
MMM MMM GOOD! STRATEGY: Use a rubber spatula to stir the ingredients. Then, using the spatula, cut into the dough and form into small-medium balls. VARIATIONS: Pillsbury Moist Supreme Strawberry cake mix plus a tablespoon of berry jam. -SO TASTY!!! I made them for a party and they were loved by all (a younger favorite). Betty Crocker's Carrot Cake mix plus one cup of rolled oats... EVEN BETTER!!! It makes a ginger cookie look-alike that has a lovely spice taste and is very very good (an older favorite). Next time I will also add raisins for a sweet touch. I baked the cookies 12-14 minutes and made 44 medium, perfectly round cookies (for BOTH variations)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
The only area where I would rate this recipe high is in the quickness of preparation. Other than that, nothing remarkable. The batter comes out immensely greasy and the vanilla flavoring of the cake mix is rather overpowering. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I've been making these for years to rave reviews but have never tried adding baking powder. This worked well! I found that 1/3 cup oil as suggested by others, wasn't enough to stir the dough. I used chocolate cake mix (ALWAYS Duncan Hines) and added chocolate chips. I split the dough, added nuts to half and sprinkled those with nuts with powdered sugar after baking, so people could tell the difference. All were yummy. This is a great last minute recipe and people never guess it's made of cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
These are the best easy cookies you'll ever make! Keep some cake mixes and mix-ins on hand and you'll always be prepared. They take no time to make and bake. It's also fun to try different combinations. We liked spice cake mix and raisins the best...they taste like the best oatmeal-raisin cookies you've ever had, minus the grittiness of the oatmeal. We also like golden cake mix with cinnamon chips. Chocolate cake mix with coconut wasn't that great - it would probably be better if the coconut was sprinkled on top (we mixed it in). For the kids, I've used vanilla mix with m&ms and they loved it! You really don't need too much of the mix-ins...if you put in too much, the dough breaks apart a little. Try these...you'll love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
Great cookies! I used duncan hines devils food cake mix and added milk choc. chips and walnuts. They were so moist and good. I can't wait to try them with peanut butter chips. As far as the ingredients go , I feel they are perfectly accurate. Especially if you use duncan hines brand. I do not know how the yellow cake mix will turn out, but I'm not worried. Although these cookies are a close second to my favorite choc. peanut butter cup cookies on this site, I will probably make these more because they're faster, easier and just as good. But we all know there's nothing like the goodness baking from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N.NERO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
OHHHHH absolutely the best recipe ever. I used spice cake mix with cinimmon chips - yummm tasted like soft gingerbread, also did devils food with butterscotch chips - those went very fast. This will be a staple in my house forever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
A quick and wonderful recipe for those who need options in their dessert. My husband is allergic to chocolate and sugar cookies get old. I halfed the batter put chocolate chips in one half for my kids and put oatmeal, walnuts and cinnamon in the other half for my husband. Turned out great. My only modification was a tablespoon of water to the oat mixture to help with the stiffness. A winner in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
After reading all the rave reviews, I was excited to try these cookies. They were very easy to make, and my kids enjoyed making them with me, but they just didn't taste all that great. They tasted more like packaged cake mix than does a cake made from packaged cake mix! I won't make these again -- I prefer Toll House, or the Award Winning Chocolate Chip Cookies on this site that use the pudding mix. Now those are some COOKIES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
This is THE recipe if you're in a hurry and want cookies now! I've made them 5x in the past 2 weeks. They do taste like cake mix, though, I have to say. But if those you're making them for are nondiscriminating in their tastes, you've got a hit. Tried it with choc chips & p'nut butter chips. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States